Covid-19 Vaccination Experience

in #vaccine3 years ago

Hi PeakD,

Yesterday I went for my Covid-19 Vaccination and I wanted to share with you my experience. I had the AstraZeneca vaccination. This is how it played out.

images.jpg

So it all began parking up and the attendants pointing you in the direction of where to go. There was a lot of staff everywhere. Every turn or part you took there was someone there with a clipboard. I have to say where I went, it was very well signposted. There were big blue markings with arrows on the pavement telling you where to go.

The first part of the vaccination journey was being asked by a man if I knew my medical ID and then asked me my name, date of birth and postcode. Then he directed me where to go to see the next member of staff. I got ushered into a building where I saw a nurse. She asked me the same questions as the man before, but also asked me about any allergic reactions to a vaccination, have I recently had another vaccination, do I have any questions or concerns. This was re assuring. Then I got shown some leaflets with a lot of information. I have to say the nurse was very helpful. I thought the nurse was going to give me the vaccination, but then I had to leave the room and another man directed me down the corridor to another room.

This time I was seen by a man at a computer who asked me the same ID questions…. and another man was there to give me the injection. He asked me what arm I wanted it in. I gave him my reply and he stuck it in. I thought it was going to hurt, but it felt like a tiny scratch and then it was over. He put a plaster on my arm and the other man gave me my card with the vaccination details on and asked me if I would like a sticker. ”I’d love a sticker!” I replied. Then I was free to go.

About an hour or so later, my arm started to ache. It was manageable, but that evening I had to take paracetamol. Over night, my arm felt worse and I didn’t want to move it much at all. This morning, I woke up with a very achy and sore arm, but also I felt sick. The back of my throat and stomach had that horrible uncomfortable sick feeling in it. I had a mild headache to go with it, so out came the paracetamol again. I don’t feel too well today, so I am taking it easy and practically going to take a duvet day with a big mug of tea next to me.

I can tell you I don’t feel right when I don’t even know what I fancy for dinner, if I want to eat at all. That’s very unlike me as I’m constantly thinking about food. Right now, that’s the last thing on my mind and I just want today to hurry up and be over with. At least I know what to expect next time. I think I’m going to have a ‘me day’ and just make my surroundings comfortable.

I hope this helps for those of you who are yet to have your vaccination. I have to say the staff were amazing and very friendly. The sick and achy feeling isn’t too bad, but I wouldn’t make any plans for the day after.