Sort:  

Yes, and you also can try to fix your car yourself if you want, but chances are you are going to fail... Of course you could go to medical school and become a doctor, and then someone comes and say you are wrong because they read something on the net...

You cannot read and understand summaries in medical journals?

Yes of course i can, i told you yes in my last answer... Do you think fixing the car yourself is the best way to go?

It's incongruous, that analogy, anyway.

Nope. I personally would not be better at fixing a car than a mechanic. However, I could read and understand the manual, and if I saw a mechanic doing things the manual says may be detrimental, I would be right to question him, and even fire him.

I didn't made the analogy, you did... Of course, if you see a doctor doing something wrong, you should not trust him... But i would not trust much in a manual, or a medical Journal, i rather ask several doctors/mechanics and then decide... The thing with medical journals is not about understanding them, is about knowing what is not written there...

Blind trust in authority is foolish.

Who would you trust?... There are many areas where i rather trust in the experts than my self, of course i always going to use my common sense...