You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Turning Smoke Into Art - The Valencia Mascleta - Daylight Fireworks

in #valencia6 years ago

This was our first Mascleta after Barcelona! We noticed the changes as well. In fact they closed down the route we prefer to get to the main plaza. They even talked about handing out tickets up front to only let in a certain amount of people into the plaza. I never felt unsafe during Fallas, thanks to the Valencians who know how to behave in a crowd. Do you live in VLC?

Sort:  

Yes, I live in a town next to Valencia.
Tickets? Really? We might end seeing this one day, but it would kill the essence of mascletàs. My bag was checked by a policeman before entering a metro station. First time it happens to me as well. Was kind of relief because I always thought there was "no control" to some crazy people taking 'bombs' or similar to metro or to outside crowds. I mean, I always trust the police doing their job, but maybe this year was the first we noticed so clearly after Barcelona.