Sort:  

due to the wires i only go with 300W, bought a new one which has a batterie charger and networkswitchover included! for only 120€ => 130$
wifi depends on the country, i have an old router with openwrt running, i can connect it as client to any open wifi, it has a better range than cellphones/laptops, at the same time my private wifi is running on that router, where all my devices connect to, so when i come to a new location i only need to setup the new connection on my router. it works best with a router with 2.4ghz & 5ghz, openwrt doesn't support all 5ghz chips.
When i have no wifi I connect my devices manual to my phone, i use prepaid cellphone internet if i am in a country for a few weeks, in europe roaming is only free for short time travels. In sweden i got a free travelrouter with the simcard, but it only works with the swedisch sim card...