# **Dear Hubby's Lunch #2: Vegan Jalapeno Pimento Cheese**

in #vegan6 years ago

"Dear Hubby's Lunch" today is a decidely new school twist on an old school classic....Jalapeno Pimento Cheese.

I must admit that this Jalapeno Pimento Cheese was actually left-over from yesterday's Superbowl spread. And guess what? It was even better the second day!

But first, let me just say.............................

****Go Philadelphia Eagles!!!****

I normally make my Vegan Pimento Cheese using a healthy, whole-foods mix of lightly steamed shredded carrots and crushed tofu and combined with my super secret seasonings. Hint: a dash of wine really sets it off!

But, since my "Dear Hubby" said that the only thing he missed since transitioning to a Vegan diet was real Southern-style pimento cheese, I decided to do something a little different. Southern-style pimento cheese he wanted? So Southern-style pimento cheese he would get! Totally Vegan, of course!

I combined three different types of vegan cheese, nutritional yeast, roasted peppers, onions, olives, jalapenos to make a true, Southern-style pimento cheese. But....Vegan....with a kick!

VEGAN JALAPENO PIMENTO CHEESE

Ingredients:

  • 16 oz. Vegan Cheese (I used the following combination: Follow Your Heart Vegan Gourmet® Cheddar Shreds, GO VEGGIE® Vegan Pepper Jack and Follow Your Heart Vegan Gourmet® Pepperjack Style Slices...But, you can use whatever combination of Vegan Cheese floats your boat)

  • 1/4 - 1/2 cup Vegan Mayo (I like "Just Mayo" brand)

  • 1/3 cup Nutritional Yeast

  • 1/3 cup Green Olives, chopped

  • 1/4 cup of juice from Green Olives

  • 1 TB Apple Cider Vinegar

  • 1 medium red bell pepper, diced

  • 1-2 jalepeno, seeded and diced

  • 1/2 yellow onion, diced

  • 1 TB Olive Oil

  • Salt and Pepper to Taste

Instructions:

  • Preheat Oven to 375 Degrees Fahrenheit. Line a baking sheet with parchment paper.
  • Toss Peppers and Onions with Olive Oil and spread in an even layer onto baking sheet.
  • Bake Peppers and onions for 10 -15 minutes or until softened. A little char is good, but watch carefully because you don't want burnt peppers and peppers. Let cool.
  • Place all the cheeses into the bowl of a food processor, pulse two to three times.
  • Add pepper and onion mixture, and all other ingredients. Pulse until the mixture is combined, but still chunky. Taste for seasoning and adjust accordingly.
  • Perfect spead onto a thick slice of sourdough, grilled or with pretzels or carrots as a dip!

EAT UP AND ENJOY!!


Until tomorrow, all the best my fellow Steemians!

Hi, I'm Benita G. You may also know me as, or call me, @AtMemesTable.

Hope you loved this post. Now, make me a happy girl and upvote my post and follow me.

I would love to have the opportunity to talk to you and to get to know you and you me. Check me out later! 'Cause you'd best believe that I'm going to be checking you out! Find me @AtMemesTable.

See you tomorrow!

Sort:  

Wow... Looks so yummy

Thank you, @shiella30! We enjoyed it!

This looks amazing! I did a vegan queso blanco for the super bowl. I love being vegan, but I do like a cheese fix sometimes. It is great that there is so many vegan cheese options.

Thank you, @pinellaslisa! Vegan queso blanco sounds delicious and would love to get your recipe. I love being vegan too and feel so much better for it, but sometimes we do have to get a bit creative in our recipe development.

I'll have to put together a recipe sometime soon! I'm one of those people who wing it and just hope for the best while creating new foods LOL!

Pimento cheese really is a Southern staple! I love the idea of shredded carrots and tofu, but I am sure that wouldn't quite fool a true Southerner so it's nice to have this version, too! :)

Personally, @plantstoplanks, the shredded carrots and tofu version of Pimento cheese is something that I could eat every day...without guilt. My Superbowl version of pimento cheese is only for special occasions because, although delicious, it's not necessarily a healthy dish. But, as occasional treat, I can be true to my Southern roots and make this version. Hope all is well with you. All the best.

I'm with you on that! I rarely use vegan pre-made cheeses, so it is a rare treat. Glad to see you back on here! 😀

I haven't made many vegan cheese, I got quite a few books but am too lazy, so all these times I've only made cream cheeze for cheezecake and cheese sauce for mac and cheese 😂

This sounds awesome but i live in a small town where theres only Daiya vegan cheese, I don't like it much 😳

Greetings from #thealliance family member 😉