KITCHEN TIPS FROM MEME’S TABLE: I JUST LEARNED AN EXPENSIVE LESSON TODAY

in #vegan6 years ago

Valentine's Day happened to fall on Wednesday this year. And, because Wednesday is tradionally a very busy day for us, we decided to forego our traditional romantic Valentine's dinner until Friday (today).

I have planned the dinner down to the last tiny detail. For dessert, I am making a Vegan Baked Alaska. Layers of decadent chocolate cake, creamy chocolate ganache, tangy raspberry coulis and vegan coffee ice cream, all topped by billowing toasted, carmelized Aquafaba Merigue.

I prepared my Mise En Place for the cake and reached under the cabinet for an almost full bottle of organic maple syrup. And then,

image.png

I discovered that there was a film of nasty, scummy MOLD floating on the top of my maple syrup!

Though I don't exactly remember when I purchased this maple syrup, but surely it wasn't that long ago. And, call me ignorant, but I had no idea that maple syrup could spoil.

image.png

Needless to say, this bottle of maple syrup is history. It will definitely not be going into my carefully planned, decadent Baked Alaska.

So that you don't make the same mistake that I made, here are just a few tips for making sure that your maple syrup is fresh for all your recipes to come.

  • Yes, that that expensive bottle of maple syrup can indeed spoil. Unopened, a bottle of pure maple syrup has a shelf-life of a year. And, opened it can last that long in the refrigerator. If you freeze it, maple syrup can last indefinitely.
  • To prevent spoilage, PUT THAT OPENED BOTTLE IN THE REFRIGERATOR! Don't make the same mistake that I did...I'm still crying over the waste of money and the waste of food.
  • How can you tell that your maple syrup is spoiled? Well, my first clue was that nasty scum floating on the top of the bottle. And, when I sniffed it (because really, who doesn't sniff something that is so obviously spoiled) it had an off, slighly sour odor. Definitely not the sweet smell of fresh maple syrup. Also, I'm told that it would taste sour or rancid. Sorry folks, but I'm not going there!
  • According to Massachusetts Maple Producers Association and some other sources, you can just skim off the mold and use the syrup anyway. Or you can heat the syrup and then skim off the mold. Though this might indeed work, I'm just not willing to take that chance. So, into the trash with my maple syrup and off to the store for a fresh bottle.

Don't make the same mistake that I did: If you open that bottle of maple syrup, make sure you refrigerate or freeze the leftovers. Then, you can be sure to have fresh, delicious maple syrup when you get ready to make Baked Alaska or any other sweet treat.

(If you want me to post my recipe for Vegan Baked Alaska, leave a note in the comments below. I'll share all my secrets for making a fluffy, delicous Aquafaba Meringue)


Until later, all the best my fellow Steemians!

Hi, I'm Benita G. You may also know me as, or call me, @AtMemesTable.

Hope you loved this post. Now, make me a happy girl and upvote my post and follow me.

I would love to have the opportunity to talk to you and to get to know you and you me. Check me out later! 'Cause you'd best believe that I'm going to be checking you out! Find me @AtMemesTable.

See you tomorrow!

Sort:  

We love syrup at my house too and we refrigerate it most of the time. But it doesn’t last long enough to go bad...

And please share that chocolate cake recipe with us!

Good morning, @metzli! Since I'm a Vegan Baker, by profession, I should have known better. Believe me, with the price of Organic Maple Syrup being what it is, I won't be making that mistake again!

I'm working on my post for the Vegan Baked Alaska now. Until then, here is a little taste of what's to come:

image.png

Be sure to check back later for the recipe! Thanks for joining me At Meme's Table!

I will check for recipes. Thank you!

wow Its helpfull @atmemestable @vegan

Thanks for reading, @lookyou! Hopefully, this will keep someone from wasting their maple syrup like I did. All the best!

I think my wife and I ran into this problem when we first moved into our house. We remodeled and the syrup sat out for a while and I think she had a similar reaction. I think we just tossed it to be safe, but it's cool to see what you found out after a little research!

I thought that stuff was good for almost forever and a day. Sorry you had to learn the hard way at least you shared it with the rest of us so we don’t have the same issue.

I’m the same way as you when it comes to mold. I don’t mess with the stuff. If it does not look right or has odd smell off into the trash it goes. I have had an entire loaf of bread turn moldy before we even enjoyed two slices of it. Ugg Florida humidity!

I know that there is "good" mold. But, since I'm not a scientist, I'm more likely to do as you do and toss a moldy item instead of taking a chance. @enjar, I think North Carolina can give Florida humidity a run for it's money. LOL!

Oh, and by the way, my dear daughter pointed out that it's written right on the bottle of Maple Syrup, "REFRIGERATE AFTER OPENING". ...smarty pants!! I guess "reading is fundamental". LOL.

Anyway, thanks for reading my post.

I'm not sure about that. When i visit family up in NC i noticed how easy it was to breath. The air was enjoyable. Florida is a swamp!