Garden Herb Soup

in #vegan6 years ago (edited)

herb4.jpg

There are so many herbs available to me right now that I find myself incorporating them into everything I make. I'm a fan of using dandelions because of their availability right now and their extreme health benefits. I feel quite sad when they are chopped down and thrown out. While many people see weeds, I see food.

There is a sharing garden a few blocks away with herbs and there are herbs in the back here where I am staying.

herb7.jpg

herb8.jpg

Since I'm a lover of soup, I've decided to make a soup lush with greens and a few other items.

herb5.jpg

Along with dandelion, chives, oregano, parsley, and basil, I have added cauliflower, carrots and potatoes.

herb6.jpg

If you are afraid of bitter greens or greens at all, then eat a soup like this. There is no bitter taste when these herbs are cooked down and blended with other ingredients.

herb2.jpg

There was no need to use a soup broth for this. The lovely herbs were all that was needed to provide great taste. I also added garlic, onion, cayenne, cumin, onion powder and garlic powder added along with salt and a dash of balsamic. The onion, garlic and carrots were sauteed in just a touch of olive oil.

herb 1.jpg

signature.jpg

Sort:  

Yes I remembered that free herb garden! And at last you went back to harvest some.

So many herbs and vegetables that when into the soup, I really can't imagine what the dish would taste like, but I can say it's surely has a very very complex flavour!! But as long as it's not bitter I'll drink it :)

It is not bitter. Instead comforting and light. But I was still hungry after this so it was an appetizer. I do like a little bitter though. It's like medicine.

I really am curious of the flavour, can you so kindly describe it?

Really it taste like spinach. Just like that.

No way, I thought it would be more complex like truffle with olive with green tea....but non the less I personally love herbaceous soup

Ok than THAT is how it tastes haha! I don't know the taste of truffle. I'm not that rich.

I am pretty sure you can find a place that offers tester :)

I love soups like this one! So simple but so rich in flavour, herbs really add a lot!

Thank you it's comfort food to me.