A quick Sunday baking : Banana, Chocolate and Dry fruits cake!

in #vegan6 years ago

Once upon a time, when I was not living a vegan lifestyle I had a myth that baking/making a dessert without non-vegan ingredients is not possible. As I was Lacto vegetarian for about 43 years of my life, always become happy to get eggless cake. Now after turning vegan, I realized that the society around me is living with so many myths about their food habits specially Lacto vegetarian people are completely in the darkness that whatever they are consuming is pure, and non-violent and without dairy products, they can't enjoy all tastes.
After 3+ years of my vegan lifestyle, I have discovered so many guilt and cruelty-free taste that I want to convey a message to all my non-vegan friends that to satisfy your taste but there is no need to depend on any animal products. Plant-based vegan food is so delicious and healthy one can enjoy without any guilt.
There is a common misconception about the cake that it must be having non-vegan ingredients but my vegan baking experience says that a delicious cake can be baked without any cruel non-vegan products. I have baked different types of cake so many times that now I can make a cake within half an hour and today Sunday I prepared a quick Banana, Chocolate, and Dry fruits cake!
IMG_0054.JPG
I didn't measure anything just took all ingredients as per my previous experience but for a beginner, I suggest to take ingredients as mention below-

Dry Ingredients-

  • Whole wheat flour 1 and 1/2 cup
  • Sugar powder/Jaggery powder 3/4 cup. Can be taken less or more as per required sweetness.
  • Cocoa powder 2 tbsp
  • Baking soda and baking powder 1/2 tsp each
  • Chocolate chips 1 tbsp
  • Dry fruits crushed 1/4 cup

Wet ingredients

  • Ripe banana 2 pieces
  • Vegetable oil 1/4 cup
  • Peanut butter 1 tbsp
  • Lemon juice 1 tbsp
  • Water required enough to make suitable free flow cake batter.

Procedure-

  • Mix flour, Cocoa powder, Baking soda and baking powder and pass through a sieve for uniform mixing.
  • Add Ripe banana, Vegetable oil, Peanut butter, Lemon juice and sugar in a bowl and mix well with the help of beater. Add little water.
  • Now mix the dry mixture with liquid mixture slowly with continuous stirring and add water as required. Make a free flow cake batter.
  • Preheat the oven to 180-degrees Celsius.
  • Grease baking trays and pour mixture up to half mark.
  • spread dry fruits and choco chips on the top.
  • Bake for 15 minutes at 180-degrees Celsius and check if required bake again at 150-degrees Celsius for more 5-10 minutes.
  • Cool down at room temperature and de-mold the cake.
    Enjoy your Guilt-free vegan cake

IMG_0061.JPG

IMG_0063.JPG

IMG_0065.JPG



U5dsqLssqhV6SUKw2Af6NLAy3MmdDDT.gif
upvote follow resteem.png

Sort:  

Beautiful! This looks soo yummy, especially with the chocolate chips and the dry foods (is it almonds?) on top.
I totally get the feeling you described of dealing with all the myths going around non-vegans. My mother in law recently found a list with egg-replacements for cakes she was totally excited about, and now she tries a lot of them out.
It's the little steps, I guess :)

I had that same myth! I was taught I have to use egg now I’m blowing people’s minds when I say I use banana or flaxseed + water.
Can’t wait to see what other things you bake up!

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-08-05T17:49:00
Account Level: 1
Total XP: 266.40/200.00
Total Photos: 44
Total comments: 18
Total contest wins: 0
And have also received a 1.00 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

YUMMY!!! 😍 Fantastic photo!
I'll follow you, and I will be happy if you follow to my blog. I hope we will be friends;)

Looks very nice and I am sure delicious. With a hot cup of tea!

Really great recipe, i love it, it looks delcious..

This looks supper yummy...i would love to try it out sometime soon..@chetanpadliya

That cake looks delicious. Very good recipe

that looks 🍌🍫amazing

AJ picked your post @chetanpadliya for his #TOP5 FOOD POST. Visit AJ's FOOD ROUNDUP to view where your post is ranked.


You can also join The-Kitchen Discord Server for more food experience.

really nice cake recipe. i think it is a big challenge to make any type of cakes without non-vegan ingredients.

No, not at all. It is really easy . Just we have to change our habits as we are obsessed with non-vegan food.

@chetanpadliya
What is lacto vegetarian ???

Lacto vegetarian who do not consume any animal products in diet except milk products.

@chetanpadliya
I think you are the best person to ask about the milk veg or non veg issue.
What your opinion about this.... ?

Milk is non veg because it does not grow on plant.

I am veg.
So i stop using dairy products ???

Of course! Milk is a baby food and one should have own mother's milk, not other species' milk. And milk is a very violent product so not consuming milk is healthy for soul and body.

Getting milk is a very violent process which is hidden from all of us! I watched “Dairy Is Scary” and wow... vegan RIGHT THERE!

Thank you for your time and knowledge sir.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Chetan from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.