How I Make My Compassionate Vegan Bulletproof Coffee

in #vegan8 years ago

It’s a Powerful, yet Compassionate and Kinder Version of Bulletproof Coffee

(Skip right to the recipe by scrolling to the end of this post.)

Adopting a paleo diet is the first step I took toward changing the way I eat. I ate a paleo diet for a few years. It helped me feel much better, along with some other holistic changes I adopted.My inflammation decreased. My chronic stomach issues began to heal. I felt more energized.

Learning to Focus on How I Feel AFTER, not During, Eating

I started to change my view of eating. I started realizing that eating didn’t mean having to feel terrible afterwards. It became clear that eating the right food would leave me feeling better, not worse, after the meal.This has been a huge psychological shift in how I view food. I am now able to focus on how I’ll feel AFTER I eat something. How I feel AFTER I eat something is what’s important to me now. It takes priority over how I feel WHILE I’m eating something.My diet began to shift after a few years of eating paleo. I started eating less meat. This wasn’t planned. It began to happen without me realizing it.I found myself eating meat once a day, usually at dinner. I felt worse after meals that included meat than after meals that didn’t.

Feeling The Need for Compassion

I adopted a meditation practice along the way too. The practice opened my eyes to the need for more compassion in my life. I remembered a post I saw on Zen Habits about a compassionate diet.Zen Habits has had a big influence on my Just Rolling with It Journey. This post was no disappointment, either. It helped crystallize the importance of not eating animals or animal based products.I’d always felt torn, deep down inside, about eating animals. I was able to push the discord away until now.

From Paleo to Plant Fueled

I decided to give a plant fueled diet a shot. The first challenge was replacing my daily Bulletproof Coffee with a vegan alternative.I searched around and found a few recipes. I experimented with them for a couple months. I’ve settled on this one. I drink it every day.I feel as good, if not better, than when I would drink the animal based version. The plant based version leaves me feeling cleaner. I think it’s as powerful as the animal based version. I plan to do a side-by-side comparison and post the results soon (Follow me on Medium so you don’t miss it!)

Compassion Coffee — A Powerful, Kind and Compassionate Version of Vegan Bulletproof Coffee

Here’s the basic recipe —

-500 ml of fair trade organic coffee

I brew mine with a Chemex or Hario V60. I use a blend of 2/3 coffee and 1/3 roasted organic chicory root for a prebiotic boost.

-3 tablespoons of raw organic hemp seed hearts

-1 tablespoon of raw organic cacao powder

-2 tablespoons of raw organic coconut oil

-2 tablespoons of organic maple syrup

Add all ingredients to a powerful blender, like a Vitamix, and blend on hight for 30–45 seconds. I try not promote brands. In this case, a high powered blender is necessary, to really pulverized the hemp seeds.

Transfer to a large thermos, glass, mug or quart mason jar and enjoy!

Optional — Top with a sprinkle of organic cinnamon and/or cayenne pepper.

Thanks for reading! :)

P.S. - If you‘d like to help spread some compassion, hit that upvote checkbox below. Would mean a lot to me and it helps other people see the story, while adding some much needed compassion to today's world!