Sour probiotic drink

in #vegan7 years ago

WOW, I just realized I have 2 cherry trees in my backyard loaded with fruits!
image

As I am making naturally fermented ginger beer for my local farmer's markets, I will now make a sour soda with these beautiful sour cherries...

In the craft beer scene sour beers are the next big thing. I will take advantage of this momentum and brew a lactofermented non alcoholic sour drink.

A bit like a kombucha , but with a different starter culture (ginger bug)

I will keep you posted on the process ....

Cheers!

image

Sort:  

Sounds delicious, but what is Lacto fermentation? :)
Thanks in advance

Simply put, lacto-fermentation is a microbial process using beneficial bacteria including Lactobacillus and Bifidobacterium spp. and other lactic acid bacteria (LAB) (commonly known as probiotics), which thrive in an anaerobic fermenting environment. Saurkraut and kimchis are lactofermented that way . I make drinks with a smilar process. It benefits our gut flora with good friendly bacterias .