You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: If you are not a vegan, you should watch this video

in #vegan5 years ago (edited)

I've compiled a playlist of videos on various topics, including the carnivore vs omnivore dillema.

My understanding is as follows:
The main problems with industrial farming are a.) our needs are satisfied at a cost of suffering of billions of conscious beings and b.) industrial farming produces meats/fish of low quality filled with toxins, anti-biotics, and of low nutritional value.

On the flip side, non-industrial animals are a rich source of highly bio-available nutrients, and thus preferable to plant based diets.

Sort:  

animals are a rich source of highly bio-available nutrients, and thus preferable to plant based diets.

Science disagrees. I won't get into this here at but eventually.

I don't agree with the bioavailability idea. We evolved as frugivores. Nothing has changed in the last 10k years.

I happen to be unable to digest 95% of fruits :(

It took me 6 months of eating a high fruit diet before I could properly digest grapes. Reshaping the gut microbiome doesn't happen quickly. I think most people have the wrong kind of gut microbiome from eating the wrong foods their entire lives.