Vegan Cheeses - My First Experience With 5 Types In Thailand! ๐Ÿด

in #vegan โ€ข 6 years ago (edited)

I had never eaten vegan cheese before so when I was walking in Bangkok this morning and saw a sign for a vegan cheese tasting platter I couldn't resist.

Admittedly the vegan cheeses I ate didn't taste very much like dairy cheeses - but I didn't expect them to. They looked pretty good and the taste wasn't unpleasant.

Here is the advertisement:

IMG_2079.JPG
I love the misspelling of the word platter - I love Asia!

The Vegan Cheese Platter

When vegan food is done well it's amazing! My all time favourite vegan restaurant is Vibe Cafe in Phnom Penh.

When I was walking down a Bangkok street today I saw an advertisement for a vegan cheese platter.... Bang I was in there and ordered before I even knew what I was doing.

IMG_2076.JPG

Types Of Vegan Cheese

My vegan cheese platter came with several types to sample along with rye bread and home made berry jam. The different kinds of vegan cheeses were:

  • Gouda
  • Smoked Gouda
  • Feta
  • Parmesan
  • Gorgonzola

Did these vegan even vaguely taste like their dairy versions? No. Could I tell which vegan cheese was supposed to be which? Not really... One of the cheeses had some blue in it so I assumed that was the gorgonzola, another was dark yellow so I suppose that was supposed to be parmesan.

Two of the various cheeses were quite wet and soggy... I suppose this is part of the production process.

As someone who has always enjoyed making jam I can attest that their homemade berry jam was excellent! ๐Ÿ˜‰

IMG_2077.JPG

Would I eat this particular vegan cheese again? No. Will I be hungrily looking out for amazing vegan cheeses around the world? Yes!

Your intrepid jockey moves on towards tastier vegan cheese! ๐Ÿ˜‰

Edit: I did not finish the platter at the restaurant and took the rest home. Now after 10 hours out of the fridge I just shared the rest with a wonderful friend of mine and fellow Steemian - I have to say the taste was sooooo much better after the vegan cheese had a chance to warm up! Yum!


Jockey loves you All and plants as medicine! ๐Ÿ˜‰ Jockey votes for @teamsteem as a witness!


21443250_1519260948137902_1665540863_n.jpg

Sort: ย 

Thats great, we have a lot of variate' s in Australia. It's amazing how lots of brands are starting to market globally. Vegans are rising on the food chain!

Excellent! It's been a few years since I was in Oz last and didn't see any vegan cheese. I will be keeping my eyes out for it the next time I'm there. Any good recommendations? Followed and UPvoted buddy! ๐Ÿ˜‰

Primal kitchen, a delicious choice. Is a nice brand and the cheddar is great.

We get Violife vegan cheese here in Ireland and it's pretty damned disgusting. I stick to nutritional yeast for all my cheesy requirements.

Excellent point! UPvoted! =)

Great stuff, love to see honest reviews, plenty of pretty miserable vegan cheeses out there. But as many are still in their infancy it is a positive to see so many. I think once we get into mature cheeses we will start to see some great flavours developed.

You have a new follower. I love to find new vegan accounts on Steemit. Keep it up.

Thank you so much! I love your name - very Zappaesque! To be honest I am not a strict vegan or even a vegetarian but I am moving in that direction. I am following you and I have UPvoted your comment mate! Yay Steemit!

Oh yeah Zappa was the man, how anyone can do that much LSD I do not know LOL

Not to worry, there is hope for everyone LOL. If I can help at all just shout out.

Wow, looks like quality products.
Is this from the place across from Radisson?
Must try to check it out next time I am in Bkk:)

Yes mate! I think the name was For Fit's Sake... and I think their tagline was: "when your favourite exercise is chewing!" LOL! Followed and UPvoted buddy! ๐Ÿ˜ƒ

LOL, I guess a cheesy tagline was suitable for that meal:D
Thanks, followed + upvoted!

Awesome comment! ๐Ÿ˜‰

They look awesome! How is the other vegan food in Bankok? ๐ŸŒฑ๐Ÿ•

I have an awesome vegan cheese recipe in my Guide to Making Vegan Pizza. It's so easy to make and I think you would love it! โญ๏ธ

Here's the link if you would like to check it out: https://steemit.com/veganuarycontest/@deliciousplants/the-ultimate-guide-to-vegan-pizza

7583907200_IMG_2514-2-min.jpg

Awesome! I'm going to check it out! It has to be better than what I had today! UPvoted and followed! Love your name! ๐Ÿ˜ƒ

I edited my post! The vegan cheese was much better after it had been out of the fridge for 10 hours! ๐Ÿ˜ƒ I will be trying your recipe! Fantastico!