Scrummy, Yummy Breakfast Bars πŸ˜‹

in #vegan β€’ 6 years ago

Hey all! Absolutely AGES ago I promised to make some energy bars and as with most things I intend to do it got a little bit lost! My New Year's resolution must definitely be to follow through with plans more! πŸ˜€


I tried a great energy bar at an Indian restaurant funnily enough and told myself I would do my best to recreate it at home and I think I've actually cracked it!

IMG_E3051.JPG

These are so easy to make and make a great on-the-go breakfast or lunchbox filler. I love shop bought cereal bars but they are often teeming with sugar and other nasty additives, and the healthy ones are far to pricey to eat every day. These are the perfect solution- they take hardly any prep, and make approximately 12 bars so should last you a while (though maybe not as they are a bit moresish!)


What You'll Need:


  • 1 cup raw oats
  • 1/2 cup pumpkin seeds
  • 1 cup assorted raw nuts (I used almonds, cashews and )
  • 1/2 cup raw buckwheat groats
  • 1/2 cup raisins
  • 1/2 cup dried cranberries
  • 1 cup soft dried apricots
  • 1/4 cup maple syrup
  • 1/4 cup water
  • 3 tbs chia seeds

IMG_3010.JPG


Method:


  • Preheat oven to 180Β°C

  • Line a large baking tray with parchment paper.

  • Add the nuts to a blender or food processor and blitz for a few seconds to break the nuts up a little.

IMG_3015.JPG


  • Spread the oats, pumpkin seeds and nuts evenly over the parchment paper.

IMG_3018.JPG


  • Bake in the oven for 10-15 minutes until lightly roasted.

  • In the meantime, place the apricots, maple syrup and water in a blender and blend until smooth.

IMG_3021.JPG

IMG_3022.JPG


  • Remove the oats from the oven and leave to cool. Make sure to leave the oven on.

  • Once cool, transfer the roasted oats, pumpkin seeds, and nuts to the large mixing bowl with the liquid mix and add the buckwheat groats, raisins, cranberries and chia seeds. Mix well.

IMG_E3023.JPG

IMG_3024.JPG


  • Add the mixture to the baking tray lined with parchment paper. Chose your tray depending on what size/ depth you want the bars to be. Make sure to pat the mixture down well, this will prevent the bars from falling apart when you cut them.

IMG_3026.JPG


  • Bake for 20 minutes.

  • Remove from the oven then remove parchment from the pan and set on the counter top to cool completely.

IMG_3028.JPG


  • Once cool cut into bars.

Easy as that!πŸ˜‹

IMG_3030.JPG


Yummy, gooey scrumptious energy bars that are packed with protein and natural sugars to keep you going!

IMG_3034.JPG

IMG_3010.JPG


I hope you liked this post, if you did please upvote. comment, resteem and follow me on @lolzwithlisa for more easy to make vegan treats!


Sort: Β 

Yum! It's been a few weeks since I've made oat bars, but yours look so tasty I'm going to have to change that!

Thanks! This is revelation to be honest, I've never made them before and was so pleasantly surprised at how easy it was πŸ˜€Looking forward to making more using a variety of ingredients!

Hi lolzwithlisa,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiesteem.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

Oh wow, it's a great day now! Thanks so much πŸ˜€πŸ˜€

These sound nice! I have made something similar but with mashed banana and peanut butter instead of the apricot and maple syrup :)

Ooh that sounds amazing! πŸ˜€ Does the banana hold well?

This looks so so delicious, with all of those yummy dried fruits, nuts, and seeds, maple syrup etc. πŸ˜‹ you really can't go wrong, and its pretty much easy to make. I am not so sure if its gonna last me more than two days, lol!πŸ˜‚πŸ˜€πŸ˜‚ ain't no way i'm gonna let that last for too long....

bitmoji-20181119114320.png

So true! I'm sure you could throw in any dried fruit and they'd turn out great πŸ˜‹I've been trying to pace myself with them so they've lasted a surprisingly longtime haha!

Well, you really did a great job pacing yourself that sure is one thing that i wouldn't be able to do. No, not with that much of a delicious treat😊

Looks so tasty :)

Thanks! They are really good πŸ˜‹

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Lolzwithlisa from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Hey! Congratulations, this is very useful and delicious recipe. I will do it soon because I love breakfast bars, Thank you so much!

Thanks for an excellent recipe

Wow! Looks delicious...I know that if I'd prepare this for the week like a fast breakfast, there won't be anything left by Monday evening hahah :D Btw I'm pretty surprised you didin't add any dates. Dates are almost always part of these snack vegan fit bars from what I've seen. But yeah, you've used raisins, it's almost the same when it comes to consistency :)

Sooo how many of them do you still have left :D ?

Yuummm… that looks so yummy and crunchy! You made me drooling. πŸ˜ƒ

Most crunchy bars have flour in them that is used to stick the nuts, seeds, and others together there is none in your recipe. That makes it really tasty and crunchy because the ingredients are "pure".

Thanks for sharing your recipe. Maybe I will try sometime when I get home... 😊

Howdy from Texas lolzwithlisa! oh these look incredible! I have actually been trying to find something like this to take to work and the good store bought ones cost $3 apiece or something! So this would work...fast, fantastically healthy and simple. I can even make these! This is a great post.

Thank you so much for the recipe @lolzwithlisa!! And the photos are beautiful! Would this be the softer or crunchier type of a breakfast bar? And can we omit raw buckwheat groats? I don't think I have seen it anywhere in the stores before. I will go look for it but just in case I can't find it :)

That looks really delicious and looking at ingredients, they are full of energy, that last longer as digestion of them takes longer time then carbohydrates. Natural sugar in apricots, raison and cranberries, maple syrup that adds the taste and of course all together mixed with nuts and seeds make it really enjoyable. I believe such healthy snacks for children also very good, only they should not forget to brush their teeth after :)