🍲 VEGAN SHEPHERD'S PIE - A DELICIOUS TAKE ON THE TRADITIONAL CLASSIC! 🍲

in #vegan5 years ago (edited)

Hey guys! Man... it's been a LONG time, what have I missed?? It's been a hectic 6 months but I'm going to try to take time to cook more from now on and hopefully get back into sharing vegan treats on here again!


This weekend I tried making a vegan version of that classic English comfort food dish, the Shepherd's pie, and man was it delicious! 😋So warming and satisfying, it's the perfect food for a cold winter's day. It's pretty hard to get a flattering photo of this meal, but trust me it was awesome!

1.jpeg


HERE'S WHAT YOU'LL NEED:


3.jpeg

2.jpeg


1️⃣Fry the onions onions and garlic in some oil until slightly browned- around 5 minutes.


2️⃣Add salt and pepper, then add lentils, stock, and thyme and stir. Bring to a low boil, then reduce heat to simmer. Continue cooking until lentils are tender (35-40 minutes).

4.jpeg


3️⃣In the meantime peel and wash the potatoes and cut in half. Add to a boiling pot of salted water and cook for 20-30 minutes or until soft.


4️⃣Once cooked, drain, add back to the pot to evaporate any remaining water, then mash until smooth. Add vegan butter and plant milk as required and mash until smooth. I also use a bit of vegan cream to make it extra creamy but it isn't necessary. Add salt and pepper to taste. Set to one side.

5.jpeg


5️⃣In the last 10 minutes of cooking, add the frozen veg, stir and cover. I also added a dash of red wine, but again this isn't a must.

6.jpeg


6️⃣If the mixture isn't thick enough after 40 minutes, you can add a spoon or 2 of mash potato or some flour to it and mix to thicken.


7️⃣Transfer to an oven proof baking dish and carefully top with mashed potatoes. Smooth down with a fork.

7.jpeg

8.jpeg


8️⃣Place on a baking sheet or tray to catch overflow and bake for 10-15 minutes or until the mash is slightly browned on top.


9️⃣Leave to cool for a few minutes, then serve!

9.jpeg

10.jpeg


Super delicious served with onion gravy and a side of winter greens 😋


I hope you enjoyed this post! If you did please upvote, comment and follow @lolzwithlisa for more vegan recipes, restaurant reviews and supermarket finds.

lisathelondonvegan

Sort:  

I approve of this plant-based posts.
Upvote 👍

Posted using Partiko iOS

Mmm... that looks tasteful!

I am ready to digg in - it looks amazingly tasty indeed - just yummy

one of my all time faves

Bring those lentils!

I'd appreciate your review on my fitness content.

Writing all about plant-based nutrition

Yum!! Haha, it's always impossible to get a good photo of lentil shepherd's pie - it's one of those recipes!! It's always as tasty, if not more so, than the conventional meat one.

You might be interested in the tags #naturalmedicine, #veganwednesday, and #fruitsandveggiesmonday, all of which might draw more attention to your blog. Much love!

Nice to see you pop up on my feed again! Coincidentally I have a shepherd's pie I've been meaning to make all week, haha. I think the dishes that sometimes look the worst are usually the ones that taste the best. Comfort food isn't always pretty, but it always hits the spot! :)