You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: If you are not a vegan, you should watch this video

in #vegan5 years ago

Wrong, a hectare of grassland if used for animals to feed on produces more energy for humans than plants could ever do. 1000 calories from plants takes a lot more area than does 1000 calories from cattle. Rainforests are being decimated for the planting of crops used for human consumption.

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

I guess we have quite different information. I've seen back yards grow enough food to feed a family year round. And having grown up around farms, I've seen that just a few cattle require dozens of acres and still need to be supplemented with feed. Not sure where you got your information, but I got mine from observation and experience. By the way, when you start your sentence with "Wrong", you sound like Trump.

I'm not talking about back yards, I'm talking about industrial monocrop farming. Which accounts for the majority of crops grown on Earth.

Posted using Partiko Android

Fair enough, but I think I've made it clear that I'm not in favor of big industrial farming, and am quick to agree that it is an environmental and public health concern. My favoritism of a plant-based diet does not require me to support bad farming practices.