No Bull Roulade! Vegan, Hearty, Pastry omni fooling recipe!

in #vegan6 years ago (edited)

For so many people who decide to Go Vegan the initial couple of weeks can be a difficult and strange place to be. For me and my family we relied on faux meats and pre made options. Don't worry though, this phase doesnt last ling and you'll be munching on whole heads of lettuce in no time, 😂😂😂 Coming from Ireland where a meal isn't a meal without meat being on the plate, the step to Veganism was a big one. My reasons were animal rights ones so I had a strong will to succeed. You can read more about that here ==> https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@moonunit/little-pig-little-pig-let-me-in .

I was a big meat eater, I was also heavily into weight lifting and general exercise, typically going to the gym 5 times a week and also swimming with the little ones at the weekends. So my logic (flawed) was, I needed meat etc. I would drink 2 whey based protein shakes a day, eat 6 to 8 eggs a day, I would have 2 chicken fillets twice a day as my lunches with little veg. I would also have meat at dinner. Sure, I looked big and strong but my insides were a different story altogether. I suffered with constant sinus and respiratory issues as well as digestive issues. I would suffer with a minimum of 2 chest infections per year, and would have to constantly use sinus rinse and decongestant tablets. When I look back at this time I can see how crazy it was! But hindsight is always 20 20.

We have been Vegan for over 2 years now, in that time I have had zero sinus or chest issues, ZERO! My son who also suffered with chest infections has had... you guessed it, ZERO issues. Man, if someone had of suggested that my issue was the food I was consuming I probably would have laughed at them. Guess whos laughing now?

So #veganuary, this is a great initiative to get people moving from the type of diet I describe above to a more healthy, sustainable and ethical diet, no, lifestyle. Vegan is so much more than just the food you eat. But lets be real, food is a huge part of it, so with that in mind I have a seriously hearty, nutritious and mheaty, omni fooling recipe, yes that is correct, I have served this many times over the last 2 years and omni's cant believe that it isn't meat. #veganuarycontest

This is No Bull Roulade!

No Bull Roulade.png

Ingredients:

250g firm tofu
230g Kidney beans (1 Can drained)
4 tbsp Nutritional yeast
1/2 tsp white pepper
1/2 tsp pink salt
1/2 tbsp mixed herbs
1/2 tsp paprika
1 tsp garlic powder
250 ml cold veg stock
2 tsp English mustard
1 tbsp Soy Sauce
4 tbsp tomato paste
1tsp fresh ground black pepper
270g Vital wheat gluten
100g Gram flower
1/2 Red onion
375 g sheet puff pastry (just make sure its Vegan, Aldi, tesco and Jusroll are)

Method:

  1. Open, drain and rinse kidney beans and tofu.

  2. Add all ingredients (in ingredients list) up to Vital wheat gluten into food processor and blend until smooth and runny about 3 min.

  3. Add Gluten and Gram flower to a mixer with dough hook/s attached. Mix until well combined.

  4. Add the wet mix to the bowl and continue to knead for 5 min.

    '''
    roulade mixer.png
    '''

  5. Remove the puff pastry from the fridge.

  6. Dice the red onion and add to the dough in the mixer and continue to knead for a further 2 min.

  7. Get a baking tray and line with cling film (plastic wrap) and grease with oil.

  8. Remove the Setian dough from the mixer and spread out over the tray leaving about a 2″ gap to the end.

    '''
    roulade on tray.jpg
    '''

  9. Open the Puff pastry roll out and place on top of the Setian mix. Cover with grease proof paper (I use the same paper it was wrapped with in the box) Hold it tight to the pastry and tray and flip over.

  10. Remove the cling film and roll the Setian into the pastry.

    '''
    roulade rolled.png
    '''

  11. Slice roll into 12 even pieces (approx 1″ each) I froze 6 and cooked 6 for dinner… If freezing be sure to separate the slices of roulade with baking paper to stop it sticking.

    '''
    roulade sliced and seperated.jpg
    '''

Cooking instructions:

To cook now, preheat oven to 160 deg C (fan) 175 deg C non fan. Place roulade slices on a baking sheet and cook on middle shelf for 40 min, or until the pastry is golden brown. You can use a milk wash (Vegan of course) on the edges for a lovely golden finish. If using from the freezer allow to defrost before putting in the oven.

roulade ready to cook.png

Serving:

Serve with a Cous cous salad and some mixed leaves with a balsamic vinegar or lemon dressing. Or as below with some sweet potato fries and a mixed salad!

no bull roulade.jpg

I hope you enjoy and please let me know how you get on!!

Please like, resteem and follow for more tasty nutritious recipes, some of my thoughts and who knows what else I'll come out with! see https://steemit.com/funny/@moonunit/pickle-rickkkk for an example.

Want to know me and the better half (Mammybot)?See here ===> https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@moonunit/some-seriously-sexy-vegans

If you would like to enter this contest drop by ==> https://steemit.com/veganuarycontest/@lolzwithlisa/week-2-of-the-veganuarycontest-how-to-enter and show us what you got!!

This recipe was orignally posted on our website feoilfreefamily.com

Sort:  

This looks delicious! I can see why your omni and herbivorous friends alike would all love it. :)

Thanks a million, plenty more to come. Its a real winner! My father in law and my own parents just could not believe there wasn't some sort of meat in there!

upvoted and resteemed

Thanks @tonysayers33 really enjoying Steemit so for. Here's to a Vegan takeover in 2018!

Yes lets do it!

tipuvote!

Seems that you have no deposit. Plase send any amount of SBD to @tipU to use @tipU services :)

My mistake, I have transferred now. Hope I got it right this time...