CHOCOLATE RASPBERRY TURMERIC DETOX SMOOTHIE | VEGAN, PLANT-BASED, ORGANIC, GLUTEN-FREE, SUGAR-FREE

in #vegan6 years ago (edited)

IMG_8116.jpg

Hey guys! I'm on a detox kick this week so I'm going to show you how you can incorporate two awesome detox ingredients into your diet: turmeric and ground chia seeds. These potent superfoods help the body undergo it's natural detoxifying processes, ridding the body of unwanted chemicals and toxins.

Detox ingredients and how they work

Turmeric supports the body’s natural detoxifying processes. It helps the body eliminate internal waste, as well as chemicals that we are exposed to in the air and our surrounding environment. Turmeric is an Ayurvedic spice that has been used for centuries. (Ayurvedic medicine is a holistic healing approach that is one of the oldest in history, developed in India over 3,000 years ago.)

Among the countless health benefits of turmeric is its ability to assist the liver in detoxifying the body. The liver is one of the main detoxifying organs in the body, and turmeric assists the liver to reduce inflammation, detoxify the blood and prevent blood clotting in the veins and arteries which can block arteries.

I’ve also added ground chia seeds to this recipe because grinding chia seeds has actually been shown to increase their health benefits and potency. And because chia seeds swell when exposed to liquid, this swelling actually helps cleanse the colon in the body and absorbs toxins.

IMG_8130.jpg

This recipe has the classic rich flavour of chocolate raspberries, and is super easy to make with only a few minutes of prep.

Here's how I did it

INGREDIENTS

3/4 cup non-dairy milk (almond milk, coconut milk, etc.)
1/2 cup frozen raspberries
1 frozen banana, chopped
5 tbsp cocoa powder
1/8 tsp turmeric
1 tbsp ground chia seeds

TOPPINGS

handful of cacao nibs

IMG_E8111.jpg

DIRECTIONS

Place all ingredients in a blender and blend until smooth. Then add your toppings and you're all done!

IMG_8117.jpg

Thanks for reading guys! And I love feedback, so feel free to let me know your thoughts in the comments!

Much Love,

Natasha


All photos and recipe are mine and original.

For more about me check out my Introduceyourself

And you can also connect with me on Instagram

IMG_1081.jpg


And for more of my guilt-free sweet treats and other healthy recipes click the links below:

Vegan Chocolate Banana Superfood Muffins
Vegan Butternut Squash Smoothie
Vegan Double Chocolate Superfood Brownies
Vegan Healthy Banana Splits
Vegan Chocolate Chia Peanut Butter Cups
Vegan Poutine
Vegan Chocolate Chip Superfood Granola
Vegan Chocolate Date Truffles
Vegan Chickpea Curry
Vegan Chocolate Chip Cheesecake Cups
Vegan Chocolate Ginger Cookies
Vegan Pizza and Homemade Pesto
Peanut Butter and Chocolate Donuts

Sources:
http://naturalsociety.com/how-drinking-this-orange-tea-can-detox-your-liver/
https://www.naturalhealth365.com/512_chia_seeds.html/
https://www.webmd.com/balance/guide/ayurvedic-treatments


FullSizeRender copy.jpg

If you liked this don’t forget to vote, follow and resteem. And thank you for all your support!

Sort:  

Mhhh, doesn’t look tasty... but the result does

This looks really tasty and healthy! Thanks for recipe!

I just now saw this and I am so going to the kitchen and make one. Looks yummy!

Thanks @sunscape! Let me know how it goes :D

sounds delicious its colors invite me to taste em

Thanks for the lovely feedback!

Wow, I love the recipe! I would rather call it shake, because if there's some kind of milk in it, it's not a smoothie, I blieve! But I love it anyways!

Thank you! I appreciate your feedback :)

I have to try that! I love chocolate and turmeric! My favorite shake is a fresh, raw turmeric latte! :)