You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: A Cruelty-Free Taste of the Sea! 🌊

in #vegan6 years ago

Great ideas! Algae truly are seafood.

The thought of using quinoa instead of rice in sushi would have never crossed my mind before I read this though. After all the very word sushi refers to the vinegared rice present in all types of sushi. But then again, it's just a word, so yeah, why not quinoa instead. Just curious, do you avoid rice altogether? And if so why?

Concerning hijiki you might like to know that it has been shown to contain loads of arsenic (see linked video). I even avoid kelp, except in very small amounts.

Now I'm craving sushi, lol

Sort:  

I don't like using rice due to its lack of nutritional value, but at times I do, like for making the Tomato-Tuna. Quinoa won't hold itself up without being wrapped in nori.
I didn't actually know that about hijiki. Thank you for telling me about it, I'll remove it from the list ;)