Introducing myself to Steemit! Vegan Food Photographer, Recipe Developer and Health & Wellness Advocate

in #vegan6 years ago (edited)

I want to start off by saying this introduction post will have a lot going on due to my crazy life, so I hope you will stay until the end! 💜

6D597A84-AB52-4C3C-B9CA-2C916474CA26.jpeg

I want to do this a bit like Q&A style as it seems to be the most organized way to do it, so let’s get started!

Who Are You?

My name is Kristin and I run a raw & vegan food photography & recipe development website & social media platform at https://platedbykay.com/ I am a vegan for all reasons, however I am very passionate about nutrition, health & wellness, and the power of plant foods for allowing the healing of the human body. I grew up in Ontario, Canada & I now live in Florida for the last year and a half with my beloved husband who is also vegan ❤️ as we build our life together!

D071266C-2AE7-4FF0-9658-5ADC939AD0B9.jpeg

65470204-0954-4B05-9EB4-FA388CD7A15F.jpeg

Why Did You Start Your Blog?

I started my blog due to my desire to share healthy recipes with others in hopes to inspire others to start adding more whole plant foods into their diet, and removing the unhealthy processed foods as a result. It has in turn helped me in my diet as well, so it’s a win-win! I never LOVED cooking or preparing food, as I never had a good relationship with food growing up. I did suffer from an eating disorder and mental illness kept me from liking a connection with food. I really hated it all my life. I went vegan in 2014 and due to this I lost 90lbs, and found my passion for health & healthy eating... and ever since I have just increasingly got more interested in cooking & preparing healthy meals. I really love sharing my journey with self love, and this is the first step I took into showing myself love: feeding my body properly ❤️ Because of the wonderful results I’ve seen so far in my life (I’m no where near perfect!) I want to scream it from the rooftops about how this one thing can change someone’s life, as it has changed mine.

627AAE08-D102-4DC0-B969-3F249E92691D.jpeg

8914FD28-B15E-4EF3-BEE3-0B684949F8B3.jpeg

35D62DCB-D905-4021-98D3-EC7EB14E54C5.jpeg

What Are Your Goals/Plans In Your Life?

To sum it up... I am currently going through immigrations to become a permanent resident of the United States so I can permanently live with my husband, and begin creating our life. In the meantime I’m adjusting to the new country, working on my self love, creating content for my blog, etc. Our plans for after everything has settled down, is to get a sprinter van, build it out so we can live in it full time and travel the US and Canada! We hope to travel and meet some of our internet friends in other countries, and we are dying to try some good fruit in Costa Rica and Thailand! I’d love to get freediving certified, but I’m not too worried about it for now as my husband is certified and can teach me a few things as we go! We crave freedom (financially & physically), ultimate health, and endless fun!

A7509940-0361-4BAC-9959-3241D30D0681.jpeg

What Should We Expect From Your Blog?

You should expect the delicious whole food plant based recipes on Steemit and as well on my DTube that I make for myself and for my family, food diaries/what I eat in a day videos on DTube and blog posts here on Steemit, travel updates, van build progress, nature blogs/vlogs, and more!

AB9A29AD-39F3-4B15-ACF9-7428B9A7E3C7.jpeg

39BC5641-070C-4C7E-BFCE-0049FF9358C5.jpeg

AABFC952-5EF4-49EB-BE81-6327AFB34B81.jpeg

What Do You Do Everyday?

I spend a lot of time on social media connecting with others as that’s something I truly love, but I also love to stay physically active by at home workouts and running/jogging as we live in the woods which is really peaceful, I love weight lifting though I don’t get to do it much as I do not have the means to do so, whenever I get the chance to I love it! I would like to get into it more consistently once I get my residency here and can get a gym membership. 🏋️‍♀️ I take care of 3 Great Dane dogs, 2 horses & a kitten which keep me fairly busy, and of course I love creating delicious healthy plant based meals to fuel my body ☀️

D4CCC3A1-5738-4D46-B030-FF44F6244593.jpeg

85BDA8EB-1DDD-430E-940B-C6AB3DB43004.jpeg

Other social media platforms you will find me:

Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/platedbykay/
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/Plated-By-Kay-2036898636539100/
DTube:


Youtube: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCA6Rs1nGnlww_wRE_ASckHA?
Vegan Amino (vegan social media app on the App Store & Play Store)

Please join me on this journey if you resonate with my message!

If you would like to share my recipes on other platforms and use my photos, please leave me a comment asking! I don’t mind ❤️

Sort:  

Hey @platedbykay!
You are lucky, the #vegan community is rather big here on Steemit. And even though I don't live vegan I think your food looks delicious - definitely following for some more of that!
Resteeming you for some publicity as well!
Greets, @theaustrianguy

Wow thank you soooo much!! That’s awesome :) <3 i’m so glad to be here and be of any kind of influence!

A pleasure, I'm new on this platform, I invite you to visit my profile, there I introduce myself.

welcome to steemit.

You've come to the right platform for there are vegans and foodies and photographers here so you can share all about your recipes and self-love passion. I like what I am seeing already. Hope to see your future posts about life and food. All the best to you and your move :)

You can check out @newbieresteemday and @juliank's @photocontest, too.

If your recipes taste anything like the food looks, I'm game. I'm not vegan, but I do love trying new recipes of any kind and my daughter-in-law is vegetarian so being able to pass on new stuff to her helps :) She's an awesome cook in her own right, but who couldn't use more recipes??

@leeart featured you for this week's Pay It Forward Curation Contest.

@tryskele Thank you for visiting the entries! Been dealing with my Grandmother who had to have her pace maker replaced.

@leeart great featured blog post!

@platedbykay Loved your post. You clearly have a passion and it's showed very clearly in your post. You will find a great community of like minded people here on steemit.

Hi, platedbykay! I wish you a very fun journey here on Steemit! All the best!

By the way, there are several groups you as a newcomer can join. They will stay with you for your journey, helping and mentoring along the way.

@greetersguild invite link https://discord.gg/AkzNSKx
@newbieresteemday invite link https://discord.gg/2ZcAxsU

Thank you! :)

Hi, Kay..Welcome! It is so nice to have you here with us. Let me know if you have any questions, and I will try to help if I can. Good luck!

Thank you! Will do :)

welcome to steemit

Thank you! :)

check this out if your want to be successful on steemit.
https://steemit.com/life/@i-know/gh4ka2l4Elon-Musk-on-How-To-Start-Up-A-Business.jpg

Thank you so much for the link! :)

Welcome to Steemit platedbykay. Let me know if you got any questions about Steem or anything related to it! The official FAQ can be found here and has A LOT of information https://steemit.com/faq.html - Also remember, Steemit is just ONE of the sites built that uses Steem the blockchain. We also have DTube - our very own Youtube, DSound for Soundcloud and Steepshot if you prefer Instagram like experience. I'd also like to mention ChainBB - forums, Busy - Steemit with more modern look basically, DMania for memes and Dlive for streaming just like in Twitch! You can also earn Steem by gaming now! Search for Steemgar if that's more your thing. Welcome to the blockchain! :)

Wow!! So overwhelmed with the power of all of it! I’m going to look into these other platforms thank you! <3

Good afternoon! I most recently on Steemit, like you. I decided that together we can achieve much and develop faster. Let's increase the power of Steemit together. I followed you hope and you follow me. Glad to new acquaintances! ;)

Te doy una calurosa bienvenida a Steemit, espero leer buenos posts de tu parte.

Hello platedbykay WELCOME to steemit! Hope you will have some fun here, meet interesting new people and places!

Really looking forward to see some fresh new recipes from you :-)

Greetings @avizor ✌🏻

This is an awesome introduction! My partner is vegan and I've been on and off vegan and vegetarian for the past 12 years, trying to ease back into veganism. Definitely going to follow you. Welcome to Steemit! There are lots of vegan bloggers here. I think you'll find that this is a good place for you.

Also, I just converted this person's cheese danish recipe to a vegan version for a comment contest, if you're interested (you'll want to read the whole thread for context): https://steemit.com/steemitcommentchallenge/@malloryblythe/re-danielsaori-steemit-comment-challenge-30-usd5-sbd-2-x-200-sp-1-weeks-delegation-comment-like-a-champ-grow-your-blog-like-a-champ-20180521t212704097z

Welcome to Steemit, enjoy the community and have fun! =) Upvoted.

Blessings,
Shang

Welcome to Steemit 😃

Hey ! Welcome to Steemit. For your kind information keep safe your master password.
Regularly upvote, comment and resteem on steemit post.
For cryptocurrency news follow @jyotirmay.
Cryptocurrency News for crypto lovers ..... Updated You Always

Welcome to Steemit @platedbykay!

Your photography skills are amazing and all the food you shared looks absolutely delicious!

I really love the idea of getting a van and travel around the country, this is something I would also love to do. I have been to Thailand last year and loved it there: nature, beaches, people, food - everything.

Have a great day and keep steeming! :)

Hey Kay (I had to, it rhymed!) ;) Welcome to Steemit! You're going to love it here and after reading this post I think you'll find that there is a great big community waiting for you here! I too was born in Ontario so we're neighbours ;) I now live in Bali and am a big fan of the tropical fruits you mentioned <3 I run a contest called #veganwednesday, you are more than invited to join in and meet some of the other super cool and creative vegans over there! If you need anything getting acquainted give me a shout, I'm happy to help! <3

wow, I loved your article .. A pleasure, I'm new on this platform too and your article is one of the first I see and it's so good, I invite you to visit my profile, there I introduce myself.

Welcome to Steemit Kristin! I love your photos (especially the food-related ones 😍). I also checked out your blog, and found so many recipes I want to try out! Have a blast here on Steemit! :)

@trincowski featured you in the Pay it Forward curation contest That is what brought me to your post

What an awesome intro post, and your food looks absolutely delicious ;)

I found your post because @leeart featured you in our Pay it Forward Curation contest; you should consider joining us next week :)

First of all I want to wish you a very warm welcome on Steemit, as a newbie myself. :) I can't believe how much your cat is similar to mine haha. I'll post a photo some time in the future. Up to a few years ago I didn't even think about cooking or food in general, I just ate whatever was on my plate and was too lazy to learn how to cook myself. When I learned how to cook, I saw that I really love it and enjoy preparing food and playing with it and recently, when I became a vegetarian, it was a whole new challenge for me to work with types of food I have never even tried before. And I love the fact that you guys are a vegan couple. Best of luck with everything in the future. :)