🌸Vegan Restaurant Review - Lekker Vegan 🌸

in #vegan6 years ago

cover working file.jpg

Ah, hey you guys! I haven't done a restaurant review in a while, and when I went for dinner with my friend last night, I thought that I'd love to share the spot we ate with you. While I am not vegan, I do love my veggies and any creative way of cooking. I was so curious when my girlfriend told me about this restaurant called Lekker Vegan.


But first, a lesson in Afrikaans!

Lekker is probably the most South African word you will ever hear me say. Directly translated, it means candy or sweets, but in South African slang, it means nice, great or good. So Lekker Vegan means Great Vegan!

And lekker it was, hey. I went with absolutely no expectations at all, only excitement to try some new chow (another crazy South African word for food).

IMG_0904.jpg

What struck me first, upon reading the menu, was how they described the menu items. They didn't say "soy meat" or "dairy-free cheese". They just said "beefy strips" or "cheddar cheese". It made me think how cool it must be if you are vegan, to come out and not worry about asking what is in a dish, or not having to scrutinise the menu for animal products.

It's a smallish shop, with a take out vibe, not unlike an uber hipster McDonald's. You order at the counter and sit at the shared seating. Loads of copper accents, natural wood and beautiful green plants everywhere.

IMG_0905.jpg

IMG_0907.jpg

IMG_0908.jpg

I ordered the "Lekker Beefy Gatsby". A gatsby is a typical Capetonian greasy street food, a bun stuffed with processed meats, cheese and fries, typical in the lower income areas.

My friend and @morkrock both ordered burgers.

People! Let me tell you - my meal was HUGGGE! It was an elevated version of the popular street food, with a toasted bun, freshly made fries and vegan beef strips. It also had a delicious spicy sauce. God, it was so big!

IMG_0910.jpg

IMG_0913.jpg

The burgers were phenomenal, by far the best the items on the menu. The patty was so juicy, full of flavours and tasty. It tasted like a slightly under-seasoned, lighter version of a beef burger. We also ordered sweet potato fries, garlic "mayonnaise" and "chicken nuggets".

GURRRL - let me tell you about these nuggets. They tasted better than any proper chicken nugget I have ever tasted. I wish I knew what was in them, I would recreate that recipe so often. We guessed seitan, but couldn't be sure.

IMG_0915.jpg

IMG_0912.jpg

The staff were literally beaming, their smiles were so big. They were super friendly and professional, really lovely guys. I (being my normal klutzy self) broke a glass, and they just laughed at me and wouldn't allow me to help clean up.

After our meal, we ordered a creamy AF almond milk flat white, and enjoyed our coffee with a last bit of conversation.

The restaurant is in a super up and coming area downtown, where there are a few clubs and bars. I loved mty evening and would definitely return for a burger.

I was most taken with the idea of being vegan and ordering whatever I wanted to eat without worrying about ingredients. It must be awesome if you are vegan

Thumbs up!

Hope you guys enjoyed my review xx

footer.jpg

Please consider voting for @adsactly-witness as a witness. To read what we are all about - click here

adsaxtly-witness.gif

Sort:  

I really like and have always liked you and your work..... I really love the Honeycomb wall planters and aesthetic of the place and now I'm hungry lol

I reaaaallly like you tooo! Thanks for always having my back x

Lol thought you were in my home country. The name sounds so Belgian ;) Food looks good!

I should try being Vegan for a month, hopefully it's cool. I don't even take much of meat now adays.

I don’t think it is so bad! Like I say, I am not vegan but it is a nice way to eat x

Although have never tested such ever, but I noticed this place or I will contact you here when in mouths to this time when I get to SA precisely May.. will love to visit this vegan to try some amazing food there😀 thx for share. @princessmewmew

Like always you for it bangon

Ah thank you xx

Lekker beefy gatsby,lol i just swallowed my saliva..the place is super hot,although not spacious.Op 'chow'is a nigerian word ooo,meaning to Eat.I am delighted u enjoyed it...😕😆

Im starving now, suddenyl I wanted to taste a burger, we dont have that same here in the place I lived and will settle for any burger now to satisfy my cravings hahahaha.. That Lekker Gatsby looks real delicious with those toppings and sauces... Can a share a bite? Lol. .

Wow that looks good. I mean really good. I am not Vegan or Vegetarian, but I am way more plant based than ever. I'm pretty sure I could eat any of that and do just fine by my diet.

Thanks for a luscious looking share.

Yeah man. It was. Sooo good. Like I would happily never eat real chicken nuggets again in lieu of these.

Thank you for making me hungry with that burger pic...

LOL just kidding hahahahh that looks like a nice place!

Yeah it was awesome x thanks for stopping by

It was a lot better. Because it is one of the foodstuffs of Africans. Your pictures are very beautiful. And the pictures seem like you are very happy. You have been so good to share a place so beautiful, who have lovers of food, they will be very happy. Friendship was a manifestation.

Hey! I enjoyed your review and I like your writting style:)
anyways, it sounds like a good place if you want to eat someting tasty and healthy:p
I have one more question if you don't mind: your nickname. Do you love cats or it's just a nickname? feel free to answer or not.
xoxo

Thank you so much xxx Just replying on here, even though we spoke about my nickname in discord xxx

Oh heavens, this looks SO good. I'm not vegan either but I love vegies and now that I quit carbs veg is my main and favourite things. Though, this looks like mostly carbs, but I can eat it with my eyes in your post!

Chow is also American slang for food. I wonder is it of Dutch derivation? Many Dutch as well as English settled my area of USA (Northeast) and I know Dutch were the main settlers of South Africa, I wonder?
Again, this food looks so good!

Even though it was mainly vegan, I don't necessarily think it was that healthy. It was super tasty though xx

I know vegan and vegetarian does not always equal healthy. I had a vegetarian friend that ate junk food and bad food all the time but 'it wasn't meat' but honestly she would have been healthier with the meat. She did it for animal reasons though, but still I rarely saw her eat a vegetable, which is odd for a vegetarian. :)

That burger looks amazing....vegan food is growing on me more and more by the day, especially after seeing these pics. Must have been an awesome meal.

it was! Thank you for stopping by x

This looks so dang delicious! I wish we had a restaurant like this in East TN. Also, your photos. 😍

You've been upvoted + resteemed by the #LadiesofSteemit initiative. Keep up the great work! 💓

YAY! Thank you so much! This is amazing

very nice food, and other places
Are you like Fast food princessmewmew

thanks, Ali !

Wellcome princessmewmew

I think I commented already on this one, what the heck???
Awesome pictures and I thought I said haha that I would never guess this food is vegan !!! :D

its steemit deja vu! Thanks so much, Loop!

We have been dying to try out the food at Lekker Vegan! We’re definitely going there when we visit Cape Town again ⭐️

Ah, I just checked out your blog - LOVE IIITT!! And you're South African, awesome! Where are you from?

We're in Pretoria ⭐️

Hehe 'lekker' is also Dutch and means delicious, so I first thought this was a post about some Dutch restaurant hehe, but great post (:

well, afrikaans is derived from Dutch! Glad it got you to click on my blog xx

Looks freaking delicious! I must agree that i too would Enjoy to just be able to order something, without thinking soy etc.. (i am not vegan myself)

I must say Im quite curious about those nuggets, Looks like This place has most bases covered!

PS: Lekker is Also delicious in Norwegian

Ah, how cool! seems lekker is not as South African as I thought!

I must say that the nuggets were really the highlight of the evening. I would rather order them than order normal chicken nuggets

Like always you for bangon

Its an awesome article . Im not the adept of vegan food but the burgers looks very delicious :)