What Was Supposed to be Chocolates!

in #vegan6 years ago

I have yet to see alot of vegan kids options for chocolate and stuff. I find this very weird because at easter time there is tons and tons of character chocolate like disney every where you turn. Hiwever, when it comes to advertising something healthier and better for the environment there is no one advertising it to kids. I have had vegan chocolate before and it does not taste any different! So why don't they make more accidentally vegan character chocolates for kids? I bet they would eat them and not even know the difference! Most likely comes down to them supporting the dairy industry, but I won't get started on that. Anyways I thought to myself why can't I find a chocolate recipe and veganize it myself? Then once I have a good recipe I could buy molds and make it myself.

image

I didn't have much ingredients but thought I could find something. Well I did! It was on Wikihow that I found the base for this recipe! I am not sure if the sweetener I used did not work or if it was the vegan butter but my husband and I thought these were disgusting. I thought they were very bitter and my husband thought they tasted like powder. My kids on the other hand love them of course. So at least I have them to eat up this disgusting batch before I try another.

image

For my next batch I think I am going to try some different ingredients. I thought about using one that calls for cocoa butter instead. However the only milk chocolate recipes I can find take milk powder. I can not just supplement almond milk for milk powder, so I am going to have to think of something creative! Maybe I can find a grain chocolate recipe. Whatever I try, I hope it is more bearable than this batch of crap! DO NOT TRY THE FOLLOWING RECIPE! I am posting only so others do not get the same terrible idea I did! 😂
image


INGREDIENTS:

• 2 C of cocoa powder
• 1/4 C coconut sugar
• 1/4 C maple syrup
• 3/4 C vegan butter
• 2/3 C almond milk

DIRECTIONS:

  1. Mix the vegan butter and cocoa into a paste (this should have been my first clue it would be disgusting, mine never made a paste, more like powder!)

  2. In a double broiler heat until hot not cooked. I tried to heat but did not work so added a bit of milk!

  3. Mix in sugar, syrup and milk until smooth. This is when I realized I had no powdered sugar and substituted. BAD IDEA!

  4. Pipe into molds! I think this was the only part I did right 😂 put into fridge to set! Mine never really set more like truffle! Ooops

Serve to kids only so they can enjoy!!😂😂


Sort:  

wOW!!! my favorite..
mouth watering.. delicious! Can I have some??? LOL ^_^