Vegan diet as means of reducing carbon footprint. Part 1

in #vegan6 years ago

The major change in my life happened summer 2017 when I decided to go VEGAN, or plant-based. There were a few reasons for such a dramatic change in my life:
Sustainability
Health
Saving money

If you think about it for some time, you will understand that all of those are interconnected.

In my previous post, I demonstrated some lifestyle changes that I personally take to decrease my carbon footprint. I also pointed out that if you were to make only ONE big change- you should reduce meat and dairy consumption.
After studying Sustainability in UCLA Extension and watching numerous documentaries, including “Food. Inc.”, “Cowspiracy”, “Forks Over Knives” and “Meat the Truth”, it became pretty clear to me that plant-based diet is something that is so natural, healthy and sustainable for human beings as species and for our Planet as a whole, that there was no more hesitation.
Vegan movement is becoming stronger and stronger every year- new Youtube channels and IG accounts appear, all advocating for vegan diet for the reasons mentioned above and more.
Unfortunately, our government and even certain non-profit organizations ignore or undermine the significance of human diet in relation to climate change. EPA.GOV and STATISTA.com both display statistics that goes along with what government wants us to believe- that most GHG emissions are the results of electricity and transportation sectors. However, there’s data that proves that livestock agriculture is the number one contributor to global warming. This 15 min short version of Cowspiracy

left me totally flabbergasted!

What other documentaries or resources have you found online that support my point of view? Or otherwise, is there research proving me wrong?
I’d like to get as many responses on this topic as possible- GO!vegan.jpg

Sort:  

Congratulations @sustainabluh! You received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit

Click here to view your Board

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @sustainabluh! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!