You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Survival Justifications Don't Determine What is Moral

in #vegan6 years ago

Yup, words don't seem to matter, because we either don't understand their meaning or don't care hehe. Vegetarian is supposed to be about eating veggies, but now it's been morphed into eggs and dairy products... I think the term vegan was created to address this.

Sort:  

I’m always surprised how misunderstood the word vegan is. I always get the same questions... so you eat fish then? Eggs are ok then, just not dairy? Even when i told my mother for the first time I was going vegan she asked me if turkey was ok then.... great post by the way, I really enjoyed reading it, you made some great points!

This actually reminds me of a funny story, My uncle, many years ago stated going out with a girl, she was vegetarian, now this was Ireland in the 70's where even the roads where meat. He brought his new girlfriend home for a Sunday lunch, a Sunday lunch at the time would have consisted of 2 slices of bacon, sausage, eggs, blood sausage (black pudding ) and white pudding (another mashup of horrible shit). So my grand mother placed a large portion of the above in-front of her, needless to say the girlfriend was not impresses. To which my grand mother replied "what, there's no meat on that plate" To her meat was a roast or similar, no concept of vegetarianism or anything like it.