90% Raw Vegan Grocery Haul Northern Illinois

in #vegan7 years ago

Good evening, Steemians!

IMG_4122.JPG

I'm back in my hometown in northern Illinois until tomorrow, and I thought I would show you what I bought that's almost all raw vegan at my old local Jewel Osco (much more variety than Winn-Dixie or Publix down south I must say)

IMG_4119 1.JPG

How is jackfruit mainstream here??? Why isn't it mainstream in Florida where it's grown?? Come on!

IMG_4120 1.JPG

IMG_4121 1.JPG

My nephew (who's growing up so fast) wanted to be in the picture

IMG_4122.JPG

I picked up a few bunches of bananas, some greens, tomatoes on the vine, canned beans, beets, a few guavas, canned diced tomatoes, a red bell pepper, pears, a bag of apples and a pomegranate and blueberry juice. I think my total was $34.

IMG_4124.JPG

Sort:  

Southern WI vegan here. If you haven't already done so, check out Pig Minds (a vegan brew pub with great beer and food). I'm still shocked that it's doing so well in this area.

I guess it depends on how far north in IL you are. Chicago Diner might be closer to you.

I always try to hit any vegan restaurants in any area in which I travel. It's such a rare treat to get good food that I didn't have to cook. :)

Northern Illinois?! That's where I'm from. Born in Chicago, lived 13 years in Arlington Heights. Jewel! Forgot about that place. Wow. Have a great time.

I was born in Arlington Heights at Northwest. What a coincidence. Lived in McHenry for about 13 years of my life, before that Algonquin and Crystal Lake. :) Thanks bud!

That's crazy!! Thank you for bringing back some good memories.

Jackfruit is the best! It is so sweet and tasty when it's ripe and the other day I tried out green jackfruit as meat substitute for the first time and it was amazing as well.

I totally agree agree with everything you just said lol!

jackfruit kind of scares me, i really don't know why

Please vote me I am new in fotografar

Calling @originalworks :)
img credz: pixabay.com
Nice, you got a 4.2% @minnowbooster upgoat, thanks to @vegansilverstack
Want a boost? Minnowbooster's got your back!

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @vegansilverstack to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

To enter this post into the daily RESTEEM contest, upvote this comment! The user with the most upvotes on their @OriginalWorks comment will win!

For more information, Click Here! || Click here to participate in the @OriginalWorks sponsored writing contest(125 SBD in prizes)!
Special thanks to @reggaemuffin for being a supporter! Vote him as a witness to help make Steemit a better place!

This post has received a 10.46 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @vegansilverstack.

upvote my post

This post has been ranked within the top 50 most undervalued posts in the first half of Oct 08. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $16.49 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Oct 08 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

This post received a 4.15% upvote from @randowhale thanks to @vegansilverstack! To learn more, check out @randowhale 101 - Everything You Need to Know!