A vegan in Philadelphia: I was missing out on these restaurants

in #vegan6 years ago

I've only began Vegan for a little over 3 weeks so I might be late to the party on these restaurants. But, I hope this post can help any new vegans in the Philadelphia area.

The first place I'm going to talk about is called Vegan Tree . It is a fast and casual eatery located at the corner of 8th and South street. When I go, I get the mango bubble tea and their vegan cheese steak.
VEGAN_CHEESE_STEAK.jpg
(taken from the website linked above)
The "beef" is soy based and the "cheese" is made from nutritional yeast. I've also had their soy burger and healthy rice dish. Both dishes are delicious. Any time time I've eaten here, I was never disappointed.

The next restaurant on this list is called Wiz Kid, located in the Rittenhouse square area of Philadelphia. This place has a much more fast paced feel than Vegan Tree. While Vegan tree has a wide variety of choices, Wiz Kid focuses their talents on sandwiches and sides. I've had two sandwiches from this this shop and each time I was impressed. The first item I tried was their cheese steak. It was out of this world. In place of cheese, they use a rutabaga "cheese-wiz" on their steak. The amount of culinary ability to recreate a Philly classic is truly impressive. The next sandwich I ordered was the KFT (Korean Fried Tempeh). This item was very good, and the sriracha thousand island added a spicy/tangy flavor. Between the two though, the cheese steak is the superior item on the menu.

I was very excited to find vegan options of my favorite foods. I was terrified that once I chose to be vegan my cheat day options would be non existent. I hope that if there are any new vegans in the Philadelphia area that this review can be helpful to you!

Sort:  

Philly vegan here! Wanted to suggest Charlie was a Sinner,hipcityveg,and blackbird pizzaria. All three are great vegan places!

Oh my god. I can’t believe I forgot blackbird ! I’ve beating there since before I was vegan. I’ll have to write a review on them. I haven’t tried the other 2 places though. Thanks for the tip!

Hey @wplymouth. I’m over in South Jersey. I’m not a vegan, but figured I say hi since you’re in Philly.

Hey professor. Thanks for saying hi!

I just realized who you are!! Why aren’t you in class?! ;)

I had to drop. I bit off more than i could chew and spread myself to thin. I was unable to give the class my best efforts. I want to take it again next semester when I have my self a bit more organized. Hopefully you are teaching it again! I like your teaching style and passion for the subject!

I will most likely teach it again at NERC in the fall. I think it’s always on Tuesday. Well, sorry to hear that, and I hope everything is okay. Let’s keep in touch here. Have you been figuring things out?

Very good to hear. I didn't prioritize my responsibilities correctly. I also under estimated how difficult it is building a real estate business. That has taken the majority of my time. Fortunately, i learned from my mistake and am in the process of sorting everything out.