QUINOA FALAFEL for VEGAN WEDNESDAY πŸ’šπŸŒΏπŸ’š

in #veganwednesday β€’ 6 years ago (edited)

Hello My Dearest Foodies,

And falafel lovers! I bet all of you love falafels and you know how they are made. Nevertheless, I doubt that you ever tried falafel made of quinoa and green garbanzo/chick peas, plus oven baked instead of deep fried. Well, I have an easy to make, super delicious and healthier version of this traditional plant based delicacy. I hope you will try it, because I know you will be very pleased.

Don't forget to check the LATEST POST by our VEGAN WEDNESDAY initiator @heart-to-heart who we all love so much πŸ’šπŸŒΏπŸ’š
01.jpg

FALAFEL
Oven Baked Green Garbanzo - Quinoa Falafel
Vegan – Gluten Free
Author: Lena’s Vegan Living

INGREDIENTS for 20 FALAFELS
β€’ Frozen green garbanzo 2cups (follow the cooking instructions on the package)
β€’ Quinoa 1 cup (follow the cooking instructions on the package)
β€’ Onion 1 medium size (cut in 4 quarters)
β€’ Garlic 4 cloves
β€’ Curly parsley 1 cup (only the leaves)
β€’ Cumin powder 2 tbs
β€’ Coriander powder 2tbs
β€’ Black pepper to taste
β€’ Cayenne pepper to taste (optional)
β€’ Himalayan pink salt to taste
β€’ Olive oil 1 tbs (optional)

PROCESS
β€’ In a food processor, begin to dicing the parsley by pressing pulse button.
β€’ Scrape the sides and add onion, garlic while pressing the pulse button.
β€’ Scrape the sides again and add the garbanzo with spices and salt.
β€’ Add the quinoa, press the pulse button few times, scrape the sides and blend all on full speed for 30 seconds
β€’ Transfer the mixture into a sealed container and place into refrigerator for couple of hours.
β€’ Preheat the oven to 375F and line your baking sheet with parchment paper.
β€’ With a mini ice-cream scoop scrape 3 portions and make a ball with your palms.
β€’ Place each on your baking sheet and you may lightly brush them with olive oil.
β€’ When ready, bake for 30 to 40 minutes and 5 to 10 minutes on broil.
β€’ Serve with your favorite veggies and Tahini sauce.

3.jpg

TAHINI SAUCE
β€’ Tahini ΒΌ cup
β€’ Vegenaise ΒΌ cup or Vegan Mayo
β€’ Juice from 1 lemon
β€’ Garlic powder to taste
β€’ Himalayan Pink Salt to taste
β€’ You may add some water if need it

Mix everything thoroughly with a whisk.

2.jpg

THANK YOU FOR VISITING & BON APPETIT πŸ‡πŸπŸ’šπŸ“πŸ‰
MORE RECIPES AT Lena's Vegan Living
Lenas-Vegan-Living-V1A.gif

​

Sort: Β 

I am a huge falafel fan but now that I'm getting older I get heartburn from fried food. I will definitely try this awesome recipe you have posted. Thank you!

Thank you so much @cookit I know what you mean, I have the same problem, lol. These are great alternative and they are very easy to make πŸ’šπŸŒΏπŸ’š

I LOVE falafel but I never thought about adding quinoa to the mix! Awesome idea : )

Thank you so much Dear @veggiekittykelly I am glad you like it πŸ’šπŸŒΏπŸ’š

Could I cook the chickpeas from scratch for this recipe ? I don't know that I have ever seen the frozen ones at the store.

Hi @anthrovegan! I'm jumping in here but in my opinion- DEFINITELY! I always make mine with soaked chickpeas, then I boil them or in raw recipes, just use them after they sprout! Let me know how it goes for you! Lena's recipes are always to die for! πŸ’–

Thanks for that I think I will try them and my husband is supposed to be on an oil free diet so I will have to dry roast them.

Sorry for the late reply @anthrovegan, but with regular chickpeas I would just follow the traditional recipe steps, which says soak overnight but not cook. You may see the recipe here https://toriavey.com/toris-kitchen/falafel/

Ok thanks for that.

My pleasure 😊

wow...excellent food photography..
& very well post..
i love this post..
thanks for sharing..dear @lenasveganliving

Always a pleasure and thank you so much, I ma happy you like it @numanahmed πŸ’šπŸŒΏπŸ’š

Looks amazing and must be very good! I hope I can join vegan Wednesday next week πŸ˜ŠπŸ‹πŸŽπŸπŸ‘

I hope you will Dear Erika and thank you so much πŸ’šπŸŒΏπŸ’š

You provoked me to eat ... how delicious ... I invite you to visit my blog and see my post. this is the link of my last publication https://steemit.com/photography/@kmejias/4-pictures-4-favorites-4-beautiful-places

Thank you so much, I am glad you like it and if you lime photography you can join #photocontest and #fruitsandveggiesmonday πŸ’šπŸŒΏπŸ’š

This post has received gratitude of 3.44% from @appreciator courtesy of @lenasveganliving!

I like

Thank you πŸ’šπŸŒΏπŸ’š

Wow! The food looks so beautiful! I love Falafels too!

Thank you so much Dear @delania I am glad you like it πŸ’šπŸŒΏπŸ’š

Ooooohhhh I love that recipe @lenasveganliving. I am definitely becoming vegan. my daughter has alresdy gone that root. So so healthy. thank you so much for your wonderfully healthy vegan delights. love your posts.

I am sooooooooooo happy to hear that Dear @artywink I wish you all the best and thank you so much.
Maybe you would also like to join our #fruitsandveggiesmonday πŸ’šπŸŒΏπŸ’š

Hi @artywink, I had to get in on this because this comment made me so happy to read! I love hearing about people deciding to make healthy changes in their diets! How lovely that your daughter is acting as an inspiration to you! That's so sweet! I just had my father visit me for 3 months and tried my best to plant some seeds, I hope they root and that he takes on some changes as well! @lenasveganliving is an absolute inspiration and she is filled with the most delicious recipes around! If you want to see some more great vegan recipes, Lena and I are both part of #veganwednesday, if you use the tag you can find some wonderful recipes to try :) Best of luck to you- please let me know if there's anything I can do, this is my life's passion as a nutritionist and overall vegan-food-enthusiast ;)

Thank you so much @heart-to-heart . I suffer from high blood pressure and calestrol. I want to eat healthy now to best this desease , I believe the only way is the vegan root. I have even started growing my own veggies.I will definitely take part in Monda and Wednesday contests. I have started collecting vegan recipes now. Do you think the vegan root will help my blood pressure? I have started weening myself off my medication that I have been taking for the past 44 years. I also need to lose 20kgs . so . excersise and healthy eating. I am so grateful I have found this post . thank you @heart-to-heart and @lenasveganliving you have inspired me tremendously. thankyou thankyou.

You are so welcome @artywink, I think I speak for a lot of us when I say we're happy to help in any way we can whether it be recipes, substitutions, food prep, whatever the case may be! It's actually a process. When I take clients, we start with buying new groceries and it can take some time getting used to.

I agree with you- have you seen "What the Heath?" It's seriously a life changing documentary and I highly recommend it! We are able to solve so many illnesses with food that for some reason doctors are pushing pills at us for. It's wrong in my opinion and I think you're off to a great start! Especially growing your own veggies because now you're not only getting great nutrients from the earth but you're bypassing all the chemicals and nasties that come from the stuff on the shelves!

Oh, I ABSOLUTELY do think it will help. I am 100% sold on it. Watch the film, you wouldn't believe the success they had getting people off their meds with a plant based diet!

I know we're both excited to have you join in the initiatives we started to bring the vegan community together and have more attention brought to it! Can't wait to see you join in! I can say on my end, I have no problem if you use the same post for both contests (I don't think Lena will either!)

One thing I want to warn you about that people always come to me for is losing weight. I have to advise that just going vegan will not guarantee the loss of weight. A lot of vegans end up eating worse than they did before trying to make up for what they give up so, it's important to note that yes plant based is a great step but it's a healthy plant based diet with exercise and movement that will really get you where you're saying you want to go :) I'm happy to help out with whatever you need, just pop on by my page and leave me a comment or send me a message in Discord or Steem Chat whenever πŸ’– Goodluck!

Well said Dear @heart-to-heart, I totally agree and thank you πŸ’šπŸ˜ŠπŸ’š

πŸ’– Happy I saw this here, my heart's all full! πŸ’–

I love falafel. And these looks so soft and purely devine :) Really need to make these some time =)

Thank you so much Dear Nicole, I am happy you like them and they are very easy to make πŸ’šπŸŒΏπŸ’š

Falafels are so yummy but making them is so time-consuming (at least in my opinion). That's why hardly ever make them . πŸ˜… However, your amazing photos made me crave falafels so bad I think I have to make them soon. πŸ˜‹

These are very easy to make and they are delicious...........I really hope you try them. Thank you so much πŸ’šπŸŒΏπŸ’š

Hi dear! It’s the first time i hear about falafel with quinoa , normally we made it with chickpeas, but it looks so good, it’s a new version to make the taste better.

Thank you so much Dear @creativewoman πŸ’šπŸŒΏπŸ’š

These are made of chickpeas as well, but it's the green chickpeas with quinoa..........the taste is almost same but they are much healthier and easier to make.

Delicious my dear friend! This is a must try!πŸ’—πŸŒΊπŸŒΈπŸ˜ƒ

Thank you so much Dear Maru, I am happy you like them πŸ’šπŸŒΏπŸ’š

You got a 3.27% upvote from @buildawhale courtesy of @lenasveganliving!
If you believe this post is spam or abuse, please report it to our Discord #abuse channel.

If you want to support our Curation Digest or our Spam & Abuse prevention efforts, please vote @themarkymark as witness.

My daughter is a vegan, she will be so surprised when I make this for her next visit lol Thanks Lena

That's fantastic my Friend, I am very happy to hear that. Let me know how she liked it πŸ’šπŸŒΏπŸ’š

Mmmmmmmm!!!!!!!! I LOVE delicious falafel and I love your presentation and your photography too! This is a great contribution to @heart-to-hearts initiative. Glad to see you sharing such awesomeness @lenasveganliving.

I got this handy tool now that tells me when ya'll are talking about me ;) @everlove, I'm still waiting for you to join the party ;) πŸ’– I had to change the rules because I was worried that my love for Lena was taking over ;)

I can see why you have an affinity for Lena! This is really amazing on soooo many levels.

And what a party it is to join. I'm honestly not doing much food prep these days. I went through a phase of many years of immersion and creation, but my focus has shifted a lot so food has become way less of a priority to me, and since I live in community with someone else who is obsessed with food, it's easy to just let go of it and enjoy what comes my way. I do on occasion make my own food, but I'm most likely grabbing greens, asparagus or the like from the garden as I go through my day, and harvesting for green juice. I do still have my daily fresh salad, which I intend to share -- one can never have too many salads!!!

What is this handy tool you speak of?

Is that true @heart-to-heart .......oh my gosh, lol. You are probably just kidding Sweetie right?

Thank you so much Dear @everlove you are very kind. I am really happy you like it πŸ’šπŸŒΏπŸ’š

Hmmm now I need to try these since this kind of food can not even be found here.

That true my Friend, you cannot find food like this anywhere, so have to make it. Thank you so much, I am glad you like it πŸ’šπŸŒΏπŸ’š

I genuinely want to move in with you! I talked about you so much to my poppa bear when he was visiting! You are such a huge inspiration! I am just about to start a fast tomorrow but I am definitely going to try these as soon as I am back to eating again! I wish I would have seen this before my dad left, I think he would have LOVED them! I'll have to send him this post so he can make them himself :) <3

I just love your comments Sweetie, you are so adorable. I think if we would be neighbors that would be the best.............we would have so much fun.

Thank you so much, I am so happy you like it and I hope papa bear will too. Oh, and all the best with your fasting πŸ’šπŸ˜ŠπŸ’š

No one would ever go anywhere because they would be glued to the screen reading about all the delicious vegan food we would make πŸ’–

Thank you, I am going to have to avoid your posts so I don't get hungry :)

I can imagine, lol

These look delish! I've never seen green garbanzo beans. Are they perhaps broad beans?

They are definitely not broad beans Dear@mirella. you may like to check the website of the company who sells them http://naturesclassic.com/products/green-chickpeas/.
Thank you so much πŸ’šπŸŒΏπŸ’š

Thank you for the link. I will check them out <3

My pleasure Mirella πŸ’š

They look delightful Lena, I am printing the recipe so I can get the ingredients to make these. Thank you.

Thank you so much Dear @sunscape I am happy you like them πŸ’šπŸŒΏπŸ’š

You have some of the best recipes Lena! 😊

Thank you so much Josh you are very kind πŸ’šπŸŒΏπŸ’š

Β 6 years agoΒ (edited)Β 

πŸ’™πŸ’šπŸ’›
You had me at quinoa, Lena, as that is one of my favorite grains to eat!
I just made some a few nights ago!
🍽Never had farafel before and your delicious photographs make my taste buds
eager with anticipation to try your yummy recipe!🍽
πŸ₯‘ πŸ₯— πŸ₯‘ πŸ₯— πŸ₯‘
I'll probably have a little avocado with mine!πŸ˜€
Upvoted and Rsd!
πŸ’›πŸ’šπŸ’™

I am thrilled you like Dear Nina and of course you cab have avocado too. Thank you so much Sweetie πŸ’šπŸŒΏπŸ’š

By Royal Appointment...a feast for the King!! Looooove your delicious and artsy food, Lena :)

Thank you so much my Love,πŸ’šπŸŒΏπŸ’š............ I am so behind with replying to comments, oh mu gosh!!!

Dear Lena, I am absolutely loving all of your quinoa recipes! I have never attempted to make falafel before, but I am really looking forward to following this recipe. :) Have a nice day!