Vegetarian diet

in #vegetarian7 years ago

As someone who doesn't cook meat or fish, I've struggled with having a balanced, satisfying diet, so here are some ways to make sure you're giving your body what it needs without consuming animals.
My first step was to install the app Lifesum. Although its main function is to track calories, I tend to focus on macro tracking (carbs, proteins and fats).
Then, I did some research on what foods contain the most protein, as that's what I struggle to get.
Now, I include beans or chickpeas in most of my meals (20-25% protein), as well as soy, tofu, chia seeds, quinoa and occasionally eggs. Spinach, kale, peas and broccoli are some of the richest vegetables in protein.
I also try to start the day with fat and protein rich foods, which is the reason why I have Greek yogurt with fruits and nuts for breakfast most mornings. Both Greek yogurt and nuts (almonds, pecan nuts, cashews, etc) are rich in protein and healthy fats.
Something I've learned along the way is not to buy fat free foods. Your body needs healthy fats, especially if you don't eat meat.
I hope this was somewhat helpful to all vegetarians out there trying to have a healthy lifestyle.21584817_1421374577930635_1528309467_n.jpg21624107_1421374561263970_1775402968_n.jpg

Sort:  

Congratulations @evxsilvx! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!