Vero, the perfecto social network that nobody knows

in #vero6 years ago

Many of you have probably realized how social networks are evolving. With the creation of Facebook's empire social networks have transformed into perfect private information collecting mechanisms so that they can later sell it to who knows who. We can't forget that we are not Facebook's main client but just their commodity.

It does not look like such a big of a deal when almost nobody is using Facebook anymore, right? I personally don't even use Facebook daily. Nowadays everybody is on Instagram, but the problem is that Facebook bought some time ago this company and with that its metamorphosis began. I have become fascinated with the speed in which it learns about my preferences and it was able to adapt perfectly to my moods the show me in "discover" all I wanted to see, resulting in an endless loop of watching nothing with many adds hidden  in famous people posts. This made me think about how much privacity meant to me and I felt vulnerable because of how well Instagram knew me and decided to stop using it for a period of time.

Recently a friends shared with me a project that really caught my attention. It's an app, Vero, that promises that you will always be their main client and therefore your private information as well as your navigation information will always be safe. For me it was the perfect solution with an easy classification of your contacts in: acquaintance, friend and close friend; to easily filter what to share with whom. And it steps forward not only allowing you to share photo/video and text, but also books, movies, music, places...

Obvioulsy it is not all perfect and becuase they promise that your data will not be sold to make the plataform sustainable the app has a small yearly fee. I think this is what will kill it in the end becuase we as a society have forgotten about software value and even more in the app world and nobody cares about their privacy. It's easy to spend money goving to the movies or buying a new pair of jeans but it is hard to spend a little bit in a tool we will probably use everyday all year around.

But luckily, becuase it is a new proyect, Vero promises a for-life free account to its first users so go download it and enjoy really choosing who do you want to share your information with!