Post Badge for #Veterans Community Project

in #veteran7 years ago (edited)

I've been thinking of making a Veteran graphic for some time since GuiltyParties.com is run by a group of veterans, myself included.

Last night I saw a post by @jdawg rallying Steemit members to create a real Veteran Community here on the platform.

vet_for_edit.png

vet_for_edit_small.png

vet_for_edit_extrasmall.png

It's black as there's nothing illustrious about being a veteran. We're regarded by the majority of society as something between a stray dog and raccoon. We exist and everyone recites the "thank you for your service" line before fucking us over, cutting us off on the road because our veteran plates mean we may or may not be elderly, or denying us discounts because our IDs got ragged over the years and the bastards at Veterans Affairs won't issue new ones.

I'll make some more as I think of designs. Feel free to use on your posts as needed or edit the larger PNG.

Original post: https://steemit.com/veterans/@jdawg/please-help-me-create-steemit-s-new-community-to-support-military-veterans-veterans


vet_for_edit_extrasmall.png

Sort:  

something between a stray dog and raccoon

I have met some people that genuinely mean it when they thank you. some. Most other times it seems people feel obligated to say it. The Steemit Community has floored me with the genuine thanks many have for veterans. It makes me wonder if I am in an alternate reality sometimes. Had no idea you were a vet. Hello there Brother.

Heh yeah a bunch of us on this project are but oh man that's one awesome racoondog thing ............. typically when I hear it it's "thank you for your service, now here's how I'm going to screw you over today"

Good work.

Thanks buddy

That is awesome! Thank you for creating this. Great work!

Thanks, will make a few more as time and creativity allows.

@guiltyparties - very, very cool! Thanks for taking the time for fellow vets ☺ Steem on!

HI @guiltyparties. This is a great design, simple and to the point. Can you (or are you allowed) to laminate our ID's? This may help to prevent wear and tear. Thank you, thank you, thank you so much for your service. My grandfather was my hero and let his know ALL the time.

If you want a badge with your Steemit ID in it I can add it somewhere in there. You're asking to laminate a physical badge?

I'm asking if you, veterans can laminate your veterans ID badges.

I see what you're asking now.

In both US and Canada they're printed on plastic. In Canada there's a narrow window right before release that one can apply for the new vet card. If you miss that window, you're stuck with your old military ID. Mine looks like a dog ate it. I've also got a real old one prior to the plastic that I sometimes use as it has me in combats rather than in formal.

In the states they're a bit more advanced but they're incredible dicks when it comes to replacing them. My buddy's wallet got damaged in a fire with his card and still no replacement, been a year now.

Much thanks! Best believe I'll be using this with the #veterans.

Awesome, please sign me up! Seriously, vets should stick together on Steemit, but also work towards getting their views on life out there as it helps others gain insight into what we actually face on a daily basis. Thanks for the badge! Followed and resteemed.

~Deep1111