Sunset from the drone

in #video7 years ago (edited)

Carlsbad CA is a great place. Here is a drone video of the sunset days after I crashed my drone. That is why the horizon-line is off. Sorry to point it out. Thre are also a couple jumpy parts becasue teh GPS was Wigging out.

The Moral of the story is when you have a hard crash with a drone, you should probably test it out above the ground before you take it over the ocean. I was lucky it did not drop in the watter. It kept trying to Autoland right in the waves and I kept having to overide it.

I'll capture another sunset with it later and hopefully it will be a little more stable.

ENJOY!!!

Sort:  

Nice video. I recently crashed my drone and had to replace the body. First test flight it drops from about 20 feet for no reason. Seems I might have ruined all my batteries by leaving case in the car. They all seem to have a bulge in them now.

Bulges are not good. but if it powers up it should be OK but i'd replace them. It just stinks that they are sooooooo expensive. But you could maybe try calibrating the IMU (Internal measurement units) Its what keep the drone stable and level and compensating for movements. That was what i did and i re-installed the latest updates to the firmware and it worked great.

I don't trust the batteries at this point with the bulges. I think the one I use on the test flight is what caused it to crash. It had plenty of votes and then it had none. It tried to land itself but it was a very hard landing. Will just suck it up an buy a couple of new ones. Will be careful how I store them in the future. It gets very hot here in Texas during the summer time. No more leaving them in the car even if in the case.

Great drone video - what sort of drone is it? After a crash you may need a little TLC to correct the gimbal so you are not wobbling on uneven skylines =
I fly a phantom 3 professional - currently living in Costa Rica at the beach so awesome for drones - in between the rain showers that is =) Have a beautiful day!
Upvoted, resteemed and Following you

That was shot with a Phantom 3 Advanced but with the 4k camera upgrade so basically a pro. its all level now but still aims a little left so the leg gets in the image every once in a while. I also just got the Mavic Pro but have not flown it enough to really compare the 2. soon i will take them out on the same day and and see which one i like better.

Ok cool. Wow a new mavic pro - that test comparison will make an interesting post here.
Have a great day

I live in Sb ! It is so awesome in California ! 🙌

Congratulations @dailydoodle! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the total payout received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Sorry to hear about the crash :(

The DJI drones are crazy expensive. Even I had a crash but luckily only the camera base was broken.

Hope you are able to fix the horizon in future videos.

Cheers !

Fixed it. It was actually easy. You can adjust the gimble roll now it's great.

That's great. Glad to hear that.

Drone repairs can be quite expensive :(