DTube is getting 25% of Your Author Rewards! UNFAIR? Let's talk about it.

in #video6 years ago (edited)


I'm putting this video out there because there might be some of you who are unaware of the 25% from your author rewards that's going to DTube. I had a fairly lengthy discussion with someone in the Discord chat about whether it was fair or unfair or whether it was risky to upload on DTube vs just uploading to YouTube directly and just embeding it in the steemit blog. They had a different opinion which I respect and I break down the difference between just embeding a video on YT and uploading it directly to DTube. I also offer some suggestions for people who think it's unfair or aren't willing to take that risk.

Ultimately, the decision is yours. For me, I'll continue to upload on DTube because I think the 25% for now is fair. If you're producing good content that is helpful/entertaining/informational/of value and enjoy doing it, then DTube is the platform to be on. Some might think it's a steep fee, but for now, at DTube's infancy, I believe it's fair.

But that's my opinion, let me know what you think and if you disagree, what are some other options? I'd love to know in the comments below.

DTube Meet-Up! Niagara Falls Sheraton Hotel Lobby - April 11 @2pm
Join our discord #onelovedtube to chat with us! :)

*** CLICK PICTURE TO WATCH - If you want to get through the video in record time, set your playback speed to 1.25x or 1.5x ***

Here are the links from the video above:
(To see links for photos, just right click on the photo & click go to image in new tab or copy image address)

Hey guys, welcome to D-News on steemit and dtube. Bringing you the latest news in the crypto sphere!

My goal here is to share relevant news, tips, and any other helpful information to you. We cover anything and everything in the cryptocurrency realm.

If you have any suggestions or comments, please let me know and I’ll be happy to hear from you!

Disclaimer: This is NOT financial advice. I am not a financial advisor. Please do your due diligence and research in every topic. Never invest your bread money. Take care of yourself & family first. Don’t always follow the herd, follow your heart.

Thanks again, I’ll see you guys next time here on D-News on @dtube and remember to keep it D-centralized!

You can find us on twitter here:
https://twitter.com/dtubenews

Music by: Royalty Free Music - Best Motivation (loop)


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

I think 25% is ok considering what youtube/google takes.

I agree 100%

yes i agree with you

This is a good thing for long-term project viability. A recent example was the ZClassic fork from ZCash. ZCash changed a 25% fee and ZClassic didn’t believe the fees were necessary. ZClassic has sense tanked whil the fee charging ZCash is still strongly in the game. If you’re doing something that adds tremendous value, then you should get compensated for pushing the blockchain forward! Thanks for the post!! Resteem

We can not call it unfair, it's a business. But you may consider using bots on your dtube or any other third party apps on steem like dmania/busy/utopian....because it's pure loss for minnows and small users unless they get extra votes, and in my experience most of them still favors big users or well known names while giving their big bot votes, dtube is first on it.

25 percent is alot

You can upload videos to DLive and DLives does not take cut.

25% fee is an invitation for competitors to come and take a portion of the cake for a smaller percentage.
By the way, I think DLive is "charging" nothing.

Haven't tried DLive yet, but I've heard some good things! So far I don't see any competitors to DTube, but I'm sure that is inevitable.

This is complete fair they have bills to pay too, like storage

I'm on Youtube, have several channels currently and had several channels making over 2k each per month taken down for no reason at all.

Lesson, you aren't entitled to anything, even after you've done everything right. A 25% haircut on profits you otherwise wouldn't generate, is beyond fair. Google keeps much more and will can you in an instant no matter how straight a line you walk. If it's in the cards, they get you gone when they want.

As far as I am concerned, the author rewards haircut conversation is a non starter. Easy way to get around that? Increase your creation rate by 25%.

Not fair? Some think it isn't fair that dtube gives everyone the opportunity to earn with terms in plain English, and then have the audacity to complain about sharing the wealth, when they already agreed to it in the first place.

Just sayin, my 2 cent. Cheers.

Those are all great points! I wish I said some of those in the videos. Great 2 cents! Worth 2000 cents!! :) 🙏

Thanks. I appreciate your response. I look forward to following you on Dtube.

They gotta pay for the hosting fees somehow.

Very true. With most of the content on DTUBE in the low earning range I bet it can get pricey.

Awesome points. I have a family friendly channel, not making any money but I didn’t care, just love making videos. I finally hit a spike in subscribers, getting over 1000 in a month. But then YouTube shut my channel down. 😞. No reason. No explanation.

Yeah it's happening a lot and no reason given and appeals for restoration denied. This si why Dtube will grow. There is no threat of unexplained termination there on Dtube.

Some of my YouTube channels were banned, too. Also banned on Facebook, Twitter, etc.

Also, google takes 40% I heard...I'm not sure about that percentage exactly, they are just more sneaky and can hide it behind ads. People don't realize that.

Beauty and brains, that's what I've always said about @alphasteem, guys. Beauty and rains. Don't understeem the alphasteem. :fistbump:

I do feel the devs need a bigger team, but also maybe the cost of paying them is really bad at the moment.

Great insight, ya smexy beaver

Sorry just replying to this now, brotha.

Yeah I agree with you. Hopefully in time they'll be enough resources to build. Long-term I can see it growing :)

You're face is smoother.

You absolutely nailed it here! Now I’m no tech guy either but I totally appreciate that in order to have future success on this platform, shaving a little off the top is necessary. Not a problem for me.
It’s great seeing genuine people like you winning here on Dtube, I need to get myself some of that merch!

Hey brotha from another motha. Sorry I just saw this now. I gotta get faster at replying to comments. Thanks so much for those kind words man. They mean a lot to me, especially coming from one of the OG's of the DD fam. Much respect!

YEAH!!! It's so fun wearing it hahaha
Especially when people ask :) I only wish that the red was MORE RED. It feels like it's a little orange. On my next order, I made sure they made it RED RED.

#onelove brotha.

@dnews Absolutely right, people always want everything for free and then always flaming about, videos not loading, its not hd its not this its not that, that feature is missing and that and this and those. They don't get it is an investment into their own tool. If I pay 25% so the platforms i am pushing are improving .. maybe someday even beating youtube, facebook, soundcloud, twitch.. and me being an infulencial part of it from an early point on i am a winner, if i don't support them they will never get to this point. I am frustrated about not being influencial as a plancton too and i am inpatient too, but if you understand how it all works you just can calm yourself because it just takes some time and not paying the support will not help anyone. 25%? Thats absolutely fair.

And by the way it’s only 25% from your Steem Power they take! This means as long as you only pay out your SBDs and you’re not powering down what DTube takes it doesn’t hurt you in any way!
And why shouldn’t they earn money for offering this service, working on the platform, running the servers, etc.? Everybody wants to be paid for its work and live from something.

If thats the price you have to pay for censorship free content, then it's worth it. Like you said, Dtube is still in its infancy stage, I think once it has a bigger user base and runs seamlessly, the fees will decline. It's still not as smooth as youtube, but with the way youtube has started censoring and filtering content, I'd rather pay 25% to Dtube than 5% to youtube

Have you looked into the other decentraised video hosting platform - View.ly?

I really like dTube, but so far the advantages of Youtube vs dTube -

  1. Youtube allows hi resolution videos
    vs
    dTube only allows hi resolution if you have the SP (please correct me if I'm wrong, but that's what has been explained to me and that is also prevalent with the video quality & size)
  2. Youtube videos can be deleted or edited anytime and if you're one of the lucky few with over 1,000 followers, you can earn money forever
    vs
    dTube nothing can be deleted or edited after the initial 7 day period and you cease to earn any more money after 7 days also.
  3. Youtube never has uploading problems
    vs
    dTube only occasionally works to upload (something to do with restrictions based on your SP, I believe).

I'm sure these things will get ironed out over time and dTube will eventually be the best platform.....
In answer to your question, I think 25% is reasonable.

Great article!

This is great feedback. Thanks for sharing. I can't really argue any of your points, you made some solid points there. Except for the first one. I think you can upload HD in DTube, regardless of your SP (I could be wrong on this so I'll actually ask around)

Other 2 points I actually agree with 100%

My only answer is that in the end, like what you mentioned, it will all get worked out :)

Thanks for watching and stopping by! I really appreciate that so much :)

No worries and thanks for your reply.
If you do find out about my point 1 I’d love to know in order to gain more clarity.
Thanks mate

There has to be a balance. Dtube and Steemit needs to keep their servers running, and earn a profit. 25% may seem like much, but there has to be a level of effort users like myself must put in to sustain that balance.

I do believe Dtube can succeed, more people just need access to it. The youtube tyranny can't continue forever, they will soon get the competition they so rightfully deserve. I'm not saying that youtube needs to disappear, but because they are so powerful they can basically get away with murder against their community. Thats where I draw the line, and realize that Dtube is indeed a necessity!!!

All brilliant points. Thanks so much for sharing these precious thoughts!

This video isn't playing for me :(

Try watching in 720p right now

Got it (Y) Thanks, great video. I agree with your points, 25% is fine for now.

I wonder if someone can do both upload to YouTube and post in Steemit and upload it dtube?

Yes you can :) a lot of people do. Post it on @dtube first though :D

I continue to use Youtube for a couple reasons:

1- better functionality, especially with embedding.
2- I don't have a big enough following to care about income vs. copyright drama
3- I get more views and interaction on Youtube than Dtube.
4- It's easier to share across platforms.
5- Has way more tools

I'm upvoting this because I love honest comments.

  1. True, but not for long.
  2. That's cool.
  3. That's a good thing :)
  4. That's true also - but not for long.
  5. True also - but not for long.

LOL

Thanks for your honest opinion, brotha.

I’m a YouTuber and google takes 45% and all my vids are demonized, I’m ok with 25% on dtube

YouTube takes 100% from more people than you may ever know.

Hi @dnews 25% does sound like a hefty chunk - but when you think of how much you actually paid to purchase the Dtube software and the ongoing hosting fees you are paying to have your content up for others to view and enjoy (approximately $0) - then in that context the 25% probably isn't that bad.

Well said...i dont think 25% is a big issue. Coming from youtube, this platform is way more advanced and let bullsh*t. Being party of something bigger is way better! I am definitely staying in the game!

Dtube is just cheeper
I have friends that once made upload on youtube. They now prefer dtube.

25% is not exorbitant as you said @dnews
Thanks for the post

Actually I think this is a good thing, because they could afford more expenses to develop! :)

If dtube upvotes our post, it is alright but if not there is no wisdom to post on dtube.

Hello, You just received an upvote via the
Steemit Information Browser Bot
Automatically, vote, follow and comment on posts in your favourite tag.

It's really hard to even monetize on youtube anyways! So I'm sticking to dtube for now.

I think this is awesome....

DTube RULES!

YouTube takes a 45% cut and that's when you are lucky enough not to get demonetized, so I can't complain too much about DTube.

I think others look at DLive and see that they do not take a cut of the earnings and they wonder why DTube can't do the same. I don't understand all the ins and outs of each platform to really comment on it.

Awsome and informative video as always

25% is nothing in comparison to what we get back! I don't mind at all

That’s not good I thought the whole point of steemit was to not have a middle man sucking up content creators money.

You're confused...

The videos don’t remain on Viewable on Dtube forever. Shouldn’t if they take 25%?

Not at all. The way it works is the higher the content earns, the larger the 25% ends up being for Dtube. The higher the overall earning on the post the longer it will be hosted. That was my understanding when I first uploaded to Dtube in it's infancy. I assume if the content is good and ends up disappearing, a creator could re-upload it if it has some replay value. Most likely over time in most cases the older the content, the less relevant it becomes to the viewers and so it seems ok that the content won't be hosted forever.

There's also the possibility that it won't always be this way. Shelf life for hosting could be altered as the platform grows. You never know.

I was thinking about this the other day. Isn't it possible to just rent/home host a VPS server and install IPFS on it (which I am considering) and upload your videos directly to your own VPS IPFS system to ensure your videos remain available - and not rely on IPFS as a whole. The other alternative I am considering is paying a yearly sub to Vimeo who will host your files as long as you remain in contract and pay the annual fee and then embed them in steemit.

I like the idea of decentralised storage through IPFS, but to rent a decent VPS server will cost about £20 - £30 a month equalling £240 a year at the cheapest. A 5GB weekly account limit on Vimeo is £60 a year. It is still cheaper to host through Vimeo than to rent a VPS to run IPFS.

Now you don't have to do either you can just rely on others and the current IPFS servers, but I feel that if you are a content creator here using Dtube, you really should be helping to support the network and improve it that is hosting your videos.

Congratulations @dnews, this post is the second most rewarded post (based on pending payouts) in the last 12 hours written by a User account holder (accounts that hold between 0.1 and 1.0 Mega Vests). The total number of posts by User account holders during this period was 2174 and the total pending payments to posts in this category was $5674.59. To see the full list of highest paid posts across all accounts categories, click here.

If you do not wish to receive these messages in future, please reply stop to this comment.

Congratulations, your post received one of the top 10 most powerful upvotes in the last 12 hours. You received an upvote from @dtube valued at 157.48 SBD, based on the pending payout at the time the data was extracted.

If you do not wish to receive these messages in future, reply with the word "stop".

25% is the price of the insurance policy. Your video will stay alive forever while when being in YT is never forever.
I believe that new similar to DT option with lower fees are on their way.
Thanks for your post.

Nice post. Personally I think 25% is way too high though. Isn't one of the main benefits of blockchain tech to reduce "middleman" fees? haha

Either way, I look forward to seeing your future posts as this was well thought out.

I believe all of the bigger Steem sites take a 25% cut, Busy, DSound, DTube and DMania (but don't quote me on that, been a while since I read about this stuff).

Due to that there was even talk about making Steemit.com itself take 25% so that 3rd party developers can make a living without people preferring to use Steemit.com just to get out of the 25% cut. I don't know what happened with that idea though, I thought that was a great idea.

Even better, IMHO, make the 25% cut obligatory, so that everyone takes it and nobody tries to create competing services that don't do anything but offer taking a lower cut. I'd much rather have people competing on features and innovation.

Also, 25% might seem high, but the industry standard is a 30% cut for the platform operator as far as I'm aware, so 25% might even be a bit low.

Let's make DTube big !

Hah, good joke that we're getting paid. Everything flows into the infrastructure, to earn money from it is just our dream. Decided to just write this on my personal account.

Does 25% goes to Dtube for each Dtube video or is it 25% per Steemit post as well? I went to Steemd.com and I saw that 25% may go to Busy, Dmania, and Utopian, those three apps on Steem. I feel that each time I post, comment, upvote, or whatever, that some of the rewards go to them even when I'm not using those apps. I've had Dtube show up on that list before too maybe. I just don't want to find out that too many apps are taking too much from me, too often, even when I'm not sing the apps.