Left Seat again after Twenty Years - Next Gen. First Flight

in #video9 months ago

He remembered me saying that I cannot see the wheels unstick from the ground when I am taking off, so my son made sure to grab footage of that exact thing when he felt us rolling down the field.

nav-close.jpg

Things have changed since I piloted the C152s in The States. I used to plan things out on paper charts. All our check lists were the same for pre-flight, pre-start, and runup which I was comfortable with. Still, this was the first time for me flying a tail dragger.

The video

This is a one minute video of the take off and the reaction of my youngest after his first time ever in the air. He had heard my stories but had never experienced the sensation of air travel.



▶️ Watch on 3Speak

How else will the next generation learn the ropes?

This is a 1956 Cessna C170 owned by a man I met when I went to the the dermatologist. He was kind enough to let me rent it from him, though he always stays with his plane. All good, I would need to recertify for any plane that I have not flown before anyway, and a tail dragger fits that description. I used to fly tricycle gear aircraft when I covered traffic in the metro-Chicago area pre-2000.

170-from-lr.jpg

This was also the first time I had taken off or landed on a grass strip. We were forbidden from landing on grass by the place I rented from in The States, their planes - their rules. Now that I have done it, I find grass to be more forgiving than pavement, especially in a crosswind. I am sure mud would be an issue if you were locked in to fly and it had rained though.

short-final.png

The flight

The first thing I did was to take it up to 5,000 and pull the throttle back to idle which is one of my favorite things to do. I love slow and quiet flight as I used to go up in gliders quite often in the early days. Planes fly so much better when there are no opposing forces like P-Factor and the cork-screw vortexes from the prop. We were only able to maintain flight without the engine for ten minutes from that altitude.

the-eye.jpg

On our way to Zarate, we flew over something called 'The Eye' which is a floating island in the middle of nowhere that revolves around in its round surroundings (located between General Rodriguez and Zarate). It is regarded as cursed location and many pilots will not fly directly over it for fear of bad luck. A Bermuda Triangle of sorts.

I can cover other aspects of the recent flying I have done in future posts, but this one concentrates on my youngest son and his first experience with being in a small craft.

▶️ Watch on 3Speak

spbobFooter.jpeg


Originally posted on DClub Community Articles. Hive blog powered by ENGRAVE.

Sort:  

Hello Bob, one of the things that I like the most about your publication is the emotional part that means being able to have the opportunity for your son to live a little of the experiences that you have told him while flying.
You made me remember when my father taught me to drive cars for the first time, it was when I was 8 years old, and that day was unforgettable for me as well as a wonderful teaching. I hope you and your son enjoyed his ride.

A few days ago, I shared a message in your private, but I imagine it didn't reach you. I take this opportunity to greet you, and to extend you an invitation. I am currently in Argentina, and I would like to meet you. This message will seem strange to you, but it comes through a mutual friend Clayboyn and numa26. Anything tomorrow Tuesday I have my Talent Meeting @talentos program, in the discord in case you want to come closer and we can talk for a moment.

Excuse my translation into English, because the translator helped me, but I think that there are no limits to communicate.

I hope you continue to have a good time, and I will be attentive to your response.

Good vibes. ;)

Hi @angelica7 - thank you for the nice comment. I would be happy to meet you - it is my habit to meet people from Hive whenever I can. I am on Element - same name. See you soon!

I would also love the opportunity to meet you. I shared the number I use in Argentina by private message, but on WhatsApp I use my number from Venezuela and my discord username is Angelica7#1035.
I leave this message in the bottle and I hope it reaches you soon.🙂

I do not use any corporate owned apps like Whatsapp. I do not like Discord either but found you on discord earlier and created a user there. Same username as here sponge-bob. See you there.

Congratulations @sponge-bob! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You received more than 23000 HP as payout for your posts, comments and curation.
Your next payout target is 24000 HP.
The unit is Hive Power equivalent because post and comment rewards can be split into HP and HBD

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

Hive Power Up Day - August 1st 2023
Women's World Cup Contest - Recap of day 8
Women's World Cup Contest - Recap of day 7

Congratulations @sponge-bob! You received a personal badge!

Happy Hive Birthday! You are on the Hive blockchain for 7 years!

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking

Check out our last posts:

Women's World Cup Contest - Round of 16 - Recap of Day 4
Women's World Cup Contest - Round of 16 - Recap of Day 3
Women's World Cup Contest - Round of 16 - Recap of Day 2