Horror Movies, and Mayhem.

in #vincentb6 years ago (edited)

It's now after Christmas and the holiday season, so I'm back to watching Horror movies. I just don't feel right watching a lot of them between Thanksgiving and Christmas. I guess that is my weird form of OCD kicking in there. It just doesn't seem to blend well with the whole thankful, family time.

That said, a few that I've watched and loved the past week.. Some are older, because I just hadn't got around to watching them. But, I don't give detailed reviews of things, ever. I just give a quick shout out reason why I loved it, or hated it.

insidious-last-key-image.jpg
The Insidious movies
All three that are available. Awesome. They had the vibe of old school horror movies, much like the Conjuring movies. (Which we love.) My daughter and I look forward to the new one this year. Love us some Elise. Since I hadn't watched it before seeing Stranger Things... I kind of did start to wonder if the Upside Down in Stranger Things was inspired slightly by The Further in Insidious. Not that it matters, but it gives the same vibe... but there is no red door in the upside down, and there isn't dead people there... well except Barb. But is she really dead?

movieposter.jpg
Sinister 1 and 2
They were okay. I think it was more the thought of a child getting pushed to kill their family that freaked me out, that made it just okay. I will probably never watch those movies again. But, who knows--I might get an idea that I need to freak my shit out every time I look at a little kid. Speaking of that, I'm going to digress-- but haunted houses. The most freaked out I got was when a kid ran at me with a plastic butcher knife. That little shit scared the piss out of me. Good job kid.

before_i_wake_boy.jpg
Before I Wake
That one was just as good as it was sad. Thoroughly enjoyed that one because the little boy is so stinking cute. But, his cuteness preoccupied us while we watched. Sometimes, I lost what was going on in the movie because we were too busy saying, "Oh my god, he's so cute."

Mayhem-movie-2.jpg
Mayhem
Now, not really horror, but it was an awesome survival, gratuitous violence, movie in the type like Belko Experiment. That is Mayhem. But, I will say this--it was only amazing because of Steven Yeun. He made that movie enjoyable, and honestly if it wasn't him in the lead, I probably would've hated it. The story wasn't that great, or original, and kind of felt like it was trying to figure out how to make a reason for a bunch of people to try and kill each other.

flatliners-poster.jpg
Flatliners 2017
I'm not one that usually says "meh" because I HATE THE TERM. But, meh. It was okay. It was kind of cool. Will I watch it again? Probably not, unless my daughter wants to see it. Did it give me any kind of scared vibe? Nope. Especially since the original one kept my ten year old ass up at night afraid the boy haunting Keifer Sutherland was going to come after me. Also, I should add that the photo was added to this post after I wrote this. The photo I chose annoys me, because it's freaking cool looking. I hate when movies have way cooler looking promo posters than the film was itself. Props to the graphics department for that poster though, but you should've told the movie people to meet you half way.

orphan.jpgOrphan
That movie was some crazy shit. That's all I'm saying. CRAZY. It did have an ending that I did not see coming.

TheBoy_06_675b895036.jpeg
The Boy
I had to see this one because I love Lauren Cohan, and Rupert Evans. (Notice a trend? I'm faithful to the actors/actresses from my favorite TV shows.) This movie was pretty creepy. The thought of having to take care of a doll as if it were a person was really freaking weird. Then the movie continued and it just got even more so. But, was it good? Yes, yes it was.

lightsout1280jpg-19acd6_1280w.jpg
Lights Out
It was okay. I didn't mind it. But, I really don't have anything to say about it, other than I wish the dad from Twilight and Revolution, Billy Burke had more time in it. He's just a funny guy, even though he seems to play the same "aloof, I don't really want to be here," character. He actually managed that in the few minutes of time in the film, too.

mama2.jpg
Mama.
Holy crap that was a crazy flipping movie. And, it had another actor in it that I love, Nikolaj Coster-Waldau, who is Game of Thrones awesome. Plus, the little girls in this movie were awesome little actresses. They did phenomenal.

And, after all of that, I realize that I really do watch a heck of a lot of TV. But, it's been below zero out, so what else am I to do? Ski? No... no thank you.

And that's where I'm at in horror movies. I have a few on my to watch list, Green Room, Autopsy of Jane Doe, Sweet Virginia, I am Not a Serial Killer... just to name a few.