Sunday Vinyl - Roxy Music

in #vinyl3 years ago

Bryan Ferry (Roxy Music) - In Your Mind 1977
While it's billed as a 'Solo Album' it sounds like Roxy Music. The thing is, whether Bryan Ferry is singing with or without Roxy Music it's still, Roxy Music. Did he learn nothing from Bowie and killing off the spiders?

Roxy Music - Flesh + Blood 1980
I'm not sure if I featured this album on Hive before? I know I did on Twitter. I saw the Flesh + Blood tour at Wembley and then bought this album; normally you'd buy the album and then see the concert! 😆

Roxy Music - Avalon 1982
If Flesh + Blood was a bit syrupy sweet Avalon is a full on shot of treacle! Back in the day, it was the perfect album if you were entertaining (in my case) a Laaaady. 😉

Bryan Ferry - THE ULTIMATE COLLECTION 1988
Yet another album that's supposedly focussed on Ferry yet contains a substantial amount of Roxy Music. Ya just can't let go can ya son?

Roxy Music - Angel Eyes (12" Single) 1979
I used to strut my stuff to this at a discotech called Tuesdays but on a Saturday night. 🕺

I have some more Roxy Music stuff but on 7" (Or as we called them "45s") In reality I only have two favourite Roxy Music songs. Obviously Love is the drug but my all time favourite is Do the Strand.

I own all of the vinyl albums shown here except for the few that belong to my wife. Each album is generally played in its entirety unless I dislike a side.

These posts are tagged 'vinyl' 'records' 'music' and 'castlecannon' please feel free to hijack the comments and post your (Vinyl) records in the comments or drop me a ping for any Vinyl records post(s) you make.


My actual name is Pete

Find out Here why I have the username dick_turpin.


Find me on Social Media

https://mastodon.org.uk/@dick_turpin
https://castlecannon.house/profile/srednivashtar
https://twitter.com/dick_turpin
https://www.facebook.com/peter.cannon3

This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License.
License explained: Examples
Create your license: Choose

Creative Commons Licence


Podcaster. FOSS, Linux & Creative Commons Advocate.
"Be who you are and say what you feel because those who mind don't matter and those who matter don't mind."
Sort:  

Often wondered, does the Flesh + Blood album cover fold open to reveal the holder of the third javelin, chopped out of the front image? :) I used to have RM on a lot, back in the day, though mostly on CD. You've spurred me into a relisten.

Sadly not.

Just for you, I've bodged this up.

I could probably make a better job of it but it's Sunday evening here. 🙂

Oh, that's fab, lol. Wonder how miffed she was to get relegated to the rear. Sunday eve here, too, in sunny East Anglia. Your creative efforts are appreciated.

I would have sold it: "Ah, you may very well be on the back of the album, but! There's only you in the picture, nobody else."

TaDa!

Gotta love a positive spin. :)))

Roxy are another band where I've only heard the singles. I did see Phil Manzanera and Andy MacKay's band The Explorers in the cellar bar of Coventry Poly in about 1985. I seem to remember there being a power cut during the gig.

!PIZZA

Yeah, some of the bands of my youth I only have singles for; I suspect we'll get to those at some stage.

Connect

Trade


@dickturpin! I sent you a slice of $PIZZA on behalf of @steevc.

Learn more about $PIZZA Token at hive.pizza