How to fix a skipping vinyl record

in #vinyl6 years ago (edited)

Fix a record.jpg

Every record collector sufferes from a skipping record one day. Even after cleaning it with a professional cleaning machine, skips are still recognizable sometimes. Since I have tried to fix it with a wooden toothpick I have had succeeded to fix most of the skips from old unplayable records.

Here is what I've done:

Step 1:

Clean your record like you normally do. This can be done manually by using a cloth or a cleaning machine. Usually isopropanol mixed with distilled water (1:3) is a good way to get worst dirt off of your record.

Step 2:

Play your record until you notice the skip and stop it exactly where it skips.

Step 3:

Use a wooden toothpick and rub the head of it gently over in direction of the groove a couple of times.

Step 4:

Play the groove that skipped and look if you've cured the fault. If not try it again or take the record off of the turntable and repeat the procedure with a magnifying glass.

Step 5:

Clean your record again (step 1)

In most cases that helped me to repair the skip even though you can still hear some noise when done with deep scratches.

Try it and happy listening!

Sort:  

Never thought to try that! I’ll give it a go next time I run into some nasty pops.

Great advice there, I'll try that out for sure!

Most of the time it’s just a piece of dirt stuck in the groove that can’t be washed out. The toothpick did a good job with many of my cheap flea market digs.

Happy that you upvoted me ☮️
Keep on diggin’ 🎧

Thanks a lot I'll give it a try next time... on a piece of vinyl I don't love first anyway 😁

I have uses needles before. 50/50 fix or ruin ratio. Will go for this next time.

Only question: Mint or natural flavor? ;-)

Congratulations @joey-coco! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

Click here to view your Board

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Carnival Challenge - Collect badge and win 5 STEEM
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness and get one more award and increased upvotes!