QuiVR Review

in #virtualreality6 years ago (edited)

This is a review I wrote for TheVRGrid.com and can be found with more information here: http://www.thevrgrid.com/index.php/quivr/

Developer / Publisher – Blueteak / Alvios Inc.
Price – US $19.99 / EU €19.99 / UK £14.99
Release Date – December 19, 2016
Input – Tracked Motion Controllers
Play Area – Standing, Roomscale
Store – Steam
Reviewed on – HTC Vive

In QuiVR you are given a bow and arrow and start out in front of a large gate while enemies spawn and walk towards the gate bent on its destruction. You can move around to different locations in front of the gate by shooting at the giant targets above each location. The goal of the game is simple; defend the gate and progress through the world, reaching new gates and to an inevitable boss battle


Steady!

The bow and arrow will be your main means of stopping their endless advance, though some special abilities accrued through the campaign ease your efforts. In my last playthrough, I had the ability to throw fire orbs from my hand and to shoot special arrows that create fire tornadoes, which have cooldowns after use. Each of these powers adds a new dynamic to how you play the game.

As this endless horde comes at the gate you are trying to protect, I couldn’t help but admire the wide variety of enemy types currently available. The game starts out with only one type on the first level, but it will add new ones quickly. They range from flying, fast, slow, teleporting, giant lasers, healers with each type requiring a different positioning or strategy and constantly kept me on my toes.

Above you will be a giant floating glowing orb, which acts as a meter informing you on your completion to advance to the next gate. Each gate will have a different environment which seems to be randomly generated. Pass through enough gates and you fight a randomized boss. Like the smaller enemies, depending on on which boss you get, you’ll have to adjust your strategy accordingly or risk death.


Pick from an assortment of items and abilities

There are a lot of items to earn and the game mechanics are fun to play with. The fact that the levels are either procedurally generated or procedurally placed, along with the inclusion of a variety of enemies means that no two play sessions feels the same. When a new item is earned it can change your playstyle enough to make everything feel just a little different again. However, I would suggest to almost always play the game in drop-in/out online multiplayer, as it is just more fun to take baddies out with a friend.

QuiVR is the best bow and arrow VR game I have played. Try out the archery game in the lab. If you like that then QuiVR is the better of the two, both in depth and in mechanics. My only real complaint here is I wish there was more. I wish I could carry several types of arrows at a time, or that the impact of the special abilities felt like they had more kick. The abilities can be powerful, but it doesn’t feel like I am the one doing it. I fire an arrow and a tornado is created, then I forget about the tornado area and focus somewhere else. I wish instead that I had the special abilities Hanzo has in overwatch. I want to watch as my arrow splits into many other arrows, or to be able to see enemies through walls for a short amount of time. The mechanics in the game are great, but I still want more. However, I cannot rate a game too harshly based on what I wish was there.

As far as I am aware the story of QuiVR is nonexistent. It does not explain why you are defending the gates or dispatching endless enemies. I think the story is in the works and will eventually come but is not yet available. The theme though is a sort of cartoonish medieval fantasy type with many items and enemies carrying a magical touch. The enemies look like they could come from ancient spooky stories or fairy tales and it all looks decent.


And so comes the horde!

The graphics are not unpleasing, but they don’t necessarily make you believe you are in the world. It’s kind of a mix between realistic and cartoonish, leaning towards the realistic side. To me it is just the right mix to make everything seem just a little off. I am a fan of either hyper realistic or completely cartoonish. QuiVR doesn’t have to worry about the level design too much, as it is all just platforms to stand on and shoot from. I found all the levels to be enjoyable and never thought that any stage was poorly designed.

Even though QuiVR is still a game in progress and has not yet reached its final state it is already a blast to play. I find myself wanting to play “just one more game” after finishing a game. This turns what should be a short play session into me being late for an appointment. I haven’t played many other VR bow and arrow games, and QuiVR is the reason why. It fills that specific itch. If you are looking for a good bow and arrow VR game then I highly recommend QuiVR.

What would I pay? QuiVR is reasonably priced right at $19.99. It is not a full AAA game, but it’s not priced as one. For just at $20 you will get hours and hours of entertainment. So far the developer of QuiVR has released updates extremely often and the updates thus far have all been good.

Sort:  

Hey there! I like the review, it makes me wanna try it out too 😊 I already searched for such a game months ago, but only found one where it's really boring to make one and the same movement to pull that bow many times... Seems to be different here!

May I give you some advice? You said that you wrote this article somewhere else and gave us the link - that's okay, but one thing about steemit is to add NEW content. It's not about re-uploading something that you've already done and trying to get some pennies from steem for that.
But it's up to you, what you'll do with knowing this. 😉

I am glad you liked the review! And thank you for the advice. I am pretty new to steemit! Do you think it would be okay to post just the link to the review. I am just thinking that people that are browsing here may not be likely to search for the review elsewhere, thus I was providing new content into the steemit ecosystem. I could of been misguided.