Ready Player One - The VR primer for a generation?

in #virtualreality6 years ago

So I saw Ready Player One yesterday. I haven't read the book yet but certainly intend to after this experience.

I've long been a fan of Ernest Cline, the author of the book which the movie is based on, ever since first hearing copies of his spoken word performances back in the day; classics such as Airwolf, Dance Monkeys Dance and Tech Support. If you haven't heard them before I recommend having a listen, they're really bite-sized and won't screw up the flow of your day. Unless of course you get stuck in and have to listen to the rest of his stuff, like I usually do whenever I return to any one of his spoken word acts after a reasonable length of time.

So yeah, I saw Ready Player One yesterday and wow, I almost forgot that I was in a cinema watching it. I might as well have been in VR right there and then, in Bigscreen, at home watching it streamed live into my virtual cinema. I instinctively at times reached for my head to check that I wasn't in VR myself, feeling around for my headset which wasn't there. I don't mean to say that it was incredibly realistic in any sense of the word, more like 'fantastically immersive', I would think is a good way to put it. My hope is that many more people, who have never before experienced virtual reality when it is at its best, will be just that; Fantastically immersed enough to intrigue them to seek out this experience for themselves, in there here & now and not to postpone it to some far-off & hard-to-reach future.

The future is now, as cliche as it could sound. So go out and seek for yourself some VR experiences, today! Buy yourself a headset if you've got a powerful enough setup for it. If not, go to an VR arcade near you or keep an eye out for future standalone headsets coming around the corner. Better yet if you have a friend who has a headset, go camp out in their VR room and hope that they won't have the conscience to kick you out before giving their headset over to you as an incentive to leave. You won't regret it. Probably.

I really enjoyed the movie and as soon as I got home I had to jump straight into some VR. I hadn't used my headset in a few weeks so the return was as enthralling as it always is. It never ceases to amaze my that no matter how many times I enter VR, the magic is still there. Anyway enough rambling. Go watch the movie if you haven't - is my 0.011 worth of STEEM.