Error Log- Release Vs debug

in #visualstudio7 years ago (edited)

So I have heard of some developers (more experienced and skilled ) keeping a log of all the serious bugs that they have slayed or winded them down. This post is part of my intention to do the same, to write about forced or unforced errors/mistakes/bugs that have took my time. I hope this helps somebody else and also I like to keep this as a timeline for me. I am writing this here because I think this medium is going to last far into the future as a mainstream one.

So this one is a mistake. I have a .Net solution that has multiple projects in it, almost 15. It includes a webservice, a webjob and a website and they all share different DLLs . I was using Visual studio and I was trying to publish the webservice alone without others. It kept showing me dependency error. What was weird was it was showing this only when trying to publish. I kept cleaning and rebuilding the solution and then individual projects, even the ones that the service was not using. This was during the end of a long day, obviously, and was past midnight, as always. After about an hour, which seemed liked more than that because of the before mentioned reasons, I found out that one of the dependencies was getting built in debug mode so it was going to a different folder. Oh boy. That was a very silly mistake that cost me more than an hour. Looking back, may be I found have found that out earlier if I was doing that with a clear head, but I was in a hurry to publish the service that it cost me more time. Anyway I hope this helps somebody who uses Visual studio to build all their projects in same mode when publishing, or at least think about this possibility when any issue occurs.