Vlogging with the chickens

in #vlog4 years ago

As I have mentioned elsewhere I am off work this week with some variant of 'man flu'. I doubt is it the Chinese coronavirus as I have not had contact with anyone who might have it. I seem to get something like this most years, but this is a nasty version. It is giving me some time to catch up on a few things at home. I am sure my colleagues in the office would not want me coughing and sneezing there.

The chickens are fine. We get three eggs per day between the six of them, but some do not seem to be laying for now.

Selfie

This is one of the pair of young hens we got last year. She is easier to pick up than the others. Her eggs are still quite small, but then she is not fully grown yet.

Eggs

You can see the variation in size here. Shop-bought eggs are sorted for consistency. Any that do not conform will be used in processed food.

This picture is from 2012 when we had our first set of chickens and we had a fair bit of snow that winter. It came up on my Google Photos today. No snow at all this year. The chickens do not seem to mind the snow even though they are descended from jungle birds. I guess those feathers keep them warm.

Snow

Sort:  

I hope you get feeling better soon. It is good that you are able to get some stuff done that you haven't been able to in the past though.

I feel I need to achieve something with this time off work. Can't just sit in front of the TV all day.

Sitting in front of the TV gets old after a while anyway. I hear you!

Hope you feel better soon.

Cheers. It could be worse, but I'll be happy when I'm better.

Yay!
Your post has been boosted with ESTM. Keep up the good work!
Dear reader, Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.me/esteem

The cats don't go after your chickens?

They don't really bother each other. I think the cats are well fed enough to not be bothered, but that Jiggy will take some small birds. Not seen a fox out in daylight recently, but I expect they are still around, so we don't leave the girls unattended. Had a close call a few years ago when we did leave them out.

Hi, @steevc!

You just got a 6.19% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

 4 years ago  Reveal Comment

A 1% vote does not entitle you to spam my posts. Not that anyone will see them anyway. I will downvote them to ensure they sink to the depths where they belong.