Finally Got My Voice Invite

in #voice4 years ago

After working on a referral incentive program for FIO and watching it get mercilessly sybil attacked (we stopped it the same day), I have to wonder, is a verification of someone’s humanity a killer feature of Voice? Will it allow sybil attack resistance for airdrops and giveaways?

If you’re on Voice, you can find me there as lukestokes also. Here’s my first post: Voice: the criteria for success or failure

Sort:  

On your voice post it says:

Governments and financial institutions have a monopoly (of sorts) on “trusted” and reliable identity and reputation services for individuals

How does Voice do this differently? I agree that some type of decentralized identity verification service would be really awesome, but I haven't seen a good implementation of that (though I also haven't really looked for one).

Additionally, you made the point that the success of a social media service isn't about money or features, it's about getting a critical mass of users. I think the reason no blockchain-based social media platform has taken off is that the vast majority of people are just fine with Facebook, et. al. and the "decentralized" alternatives don't really offer them anything they care about.

The community of people who don't like Facebook and the other big social media services is still super small, and I think the majority of the people using the alternative services are just there to try to make a quick buck and don't really care about much anything else. The continued use of Steem seems to support this.

Voice just asks for name, email, and two different selfie photos. That's it. It's actually quite nice in terns of onboarding.

But yeah, I agree. People (myself included) are creatures of habit and they will stay where the watering holes are that include all their friends, family, and co-wokers and such.

Onboarding been improved a lot since last HF, you can signup to Hive very easily with just an email. https://ecency.com/?referral=ecency

Voice just asks for name, email, and two different selfie photos.

Well how do they prevent someone from just signing up with a bunch of different different names, emails, and selfie photos? How do they determine if the photos are of someone who has already joined? Are there people who approve new users?

I'm guessing this info is already available somewhere so if you have a link to something like that I'd be interested to read up on it.

My understanding is it uses some kind of 3D face recognition technology using multiple selfies (one zoomed in after the other) so you can't upload a photo, but have to take both photos in real time.

Look for me over there too. I'm very unsure it offers anything unique though.

Is it just me or does app.voice.com always give a DNS failure? At my home and my office I can't use my laptop to see Voice, is it mobile only?

image.png

Odd. Works find for me. Maybe try changing your DNS server? Maybe you have a firewall in place or router config that is blocking it?

VPN'ing works. I've seen this before and the problem is probably Cloudflare. It happened to PeakD and various other sites. Something geographical breaks.

I don't have the emotional attachment to Voice to raise it.

thats how i feel about the world. ☢︎
why even bother explaining☠︎☠︎☠︎
all praise and venerations to the almighty Cloudflare

I believe it will drive away enough people to where the platform won't achieve the user base it needs to be truly viable and competitive. Not only because people won't want to give the platform that information, but also because they won't want to jump through the extra hoops.

What information? It only asks for a couple selfie photos now.

The Voice Token is not even listed ob CMC

Posted using Dapplr

It's not even a token. It's not even launched yet. They are beta testing and everything will be reset in terms of token balances once they do launch for production. Even then, it's not clear whether or not you will be able to transfer the tokens out of the system. There's a lot left to be figured out.

Oh gosh. Decentralized hive communities manged more in 4 months than @dan in 2 years and alot of money. Would be very satisfying to see him Posting on hive in 2021

Posted using Dapplr

They are basically points like we have on Ecency right? If you haven't looked check https://ecency.com, we are doing some exciting experiments where points do have actual use...

I am still waiting for my approval... it's been weeks! I can prove humanity very quickly...