Should haters be free to speak their minds?

in #voluntaryism6 years ago (edited)

man-person-red-white.jpg

When is a person more powerful? When they choose to be offended and want to change the behavior of others OR when they choose to understand or empathize with the speaker or even ignore them? And yay, if you choose to adapt then you are choosing the more peaceful route AND not giving in to the temptation to stop another person from sharing their opinions into the light where they can be critiqued.

Finally, what happens when you force someone to keep their mouth closed? Where does that "hate" go? What does it do their insides? When does it come out and how? I think we have enough of that with parents indoctrinating their kids (via words, distractions, rewards, and punishments) to not feel/share "those ugly feelings".

How about we don't make exceptions about when it's ok to initiate violence? If that isn't clear: It is the initiation of violence to shut a person up.

Sort:  

When I was a child, my parents refused to allow me to show any emotion - they only wanted to hear positive things. So when it came to me being bullied and made fun and having no one to talk to about it, it just made my hate and anger even worse. I am sure if I could talk about my problems, I wouldn't have the problems I do today

Thanks for sharing something so personal and relevant!

LOL, thanks. What can I say, sometimes I come to steem simply to vent to total strangers. :)

What about people who are purposefully negative and insult everyone and won't leave a community and ruin it for everyone else? Should they just be allowed to continue to spew their hate and infect everyone else with it?

Great question! I think problems like that tend to solve themselves. Do they work in that community? Do they have family or friends there? Do they shop there? At least in a voluntaryist community, people and businesses are free to disassociate. So anyone can "vote with their dollars/association" against the person spewing the stuff they don't like to hear. Or just not listen/go away. If the hater follows them onto private property without being invited, then - of course - something can be ethically done to the hater, though I would hope for de-escalation of violence, rather than escalation.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by ScotterMonkey from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Excellent image choice, friend. :) The objective is to further the truth, not shut people down. I admit that my patience with control freaks is very limited however. Your patience is remarkable. I salute you!