Volunteering in Colombia: Teaching English in Bogota

Hello, lovely people!

Today I would love to share about another experience, that is very dear to my heart and one of the most memorable, I have had so far in my life.
The experience was working in a public school in Bogota, Colombia in the autumn of 2014.

alot.JPG

With one of my youngest kids at the outdoor class, Bogota, Colombia, 2014

A couple of years back, I went to Bogota through #AIESEC. The purpose of my travel was to learn from their national AIESEC team, how they manage to bring more than 300 young people at once to their project. that was the breakthrough in the organization.


My first class with my beloved kids at the school I was working

But what is valuable for me in that experience is working with kids in a public school in Bogota for three weeks, where I was teaching them English.

The reason I decided to take part in it, I needed to experience the product, I was going to sell later on and oh man, it was so mind-blowing and touching for me.


Even the youngest kids in Colombia are dancing like Shakira

moer.JPG

With one of the performing students, Bogota, Colombia, 2014

I just loved those kids and each morning I was looking forward to it because each them showed so much care and interest.
During those three weeks while I spent with them, I realised again how much I value diversity and how much I am grateful for being able to meet so many young people and share with them the things I learn, teach them English so they can meet more and more people, but most importantly teach them that everything is possible in this world.

Thanks for being with me, dear everyone <3

Elvira

Sort:  

That must be a great experience for you travelling and being with this Kids :) Thanks for sharing Elvira!

It was awesome, loved it! Miss Colombia from time to time even though it has been three years!