Volunteering in India : Social Project with Kids

in #volunteering6 years ago (edited)

Hello, my dear readers <3

As I shared in my previous posts, I was part of the student exchange organization, called #AIESEC.
Thanks to that amazing organization, I got to travel to many different countries, but the one and most dear to my heart trips was my trip to India for my social internship.

Winter 2012 I spent working in the government school in South Goa, teaching kids English. Not only the English language but most importantly I thought them that the world is so big and so diverse and beautiful.

-0fDTudz9VI.jpg

One of the happiest times in my life

To my surprise, the kids in my school did not know that there were other countries besides India.
It was the most shocking thing, that I learned ever because for me it was common sense but in fact, I realized there are so many people around who do not get the same education, who do not have access to the same resources and etc.

The six weeks I had spent there, I was presenting the new things about this world: sharing how many continents there, countries, thought about Russia and the culture we have, the traditions.

PhgEEccDDvU.jpg

TXJ4e135tKs.jpg

with my class of kids at school


The story of my exchange in India in three minutes

Meanwhile, all this time I was staying with my India host family!
The #family who opened their home to me with all their heart, who was taking me to school every day, to other cities in India, who cooked the Best Indian food and so many more things.

indian mom.jpg

With my India mom

indian dad.jpg

With my India dad

Many years have passed, but one thing I know for sure this experience was the life-changing and an eye-opening for me and impactful for many kids, who I will never forget.

Thanks for reading my story,
Look forward to sharing more,

Elvira