Mystery Random Upvotes

in #voting5 years ago

Someone who’s been a citizen of Steemlandia as long as I have should probably understand how they’re voting. But SteemWorld shows a couple of votes that don’t make sense to me:

F874CA05-1844-4C48-9727-F4C35A9B8E71.jpeg

I have no clue how to vote fractionally for percentages that aren’t integers. I checked SteemAuto and have no upvoting automated from there (I do follow a couple of downvoting trails).

Possibly, one of these

BE10B8A7-DB5B-4D96-869A-AA8F58E23102.jpeg

did upvoting using my posting key? But I look at SteemWorld very frequently and haven’t seen any other mystery random upvotes. Gotta admit that it’s embarrassing to not understand how these upvotes happened, given how long I’ve been here. As far as I know, all of my upvoting is as a result of my manual curation. But, apparently, I’m wrong about that.

Sort:  

Looking at the voting patterns on both posts you voted on, it seems that :

  • Your votes aren't from following a trail
  • The two accounts are linked and receive exactly the same votes from the same voters

So my opinion is : there's a compromised app in there, and the authors you upvoted are linked with this fraudulent app.

So best would be : revoke all access / change your keys.
And then authorize back only the apps you use and have trust in.

You can do it programmatically. If remember correctly, the voting weight parameter is an integer between 0 and 10000 in the Javascript and Python APIs and therefore most likely internally in the Steem blockchain code written in C++. None of the front ends support fractional percentage voting. It has to be the work of an app.

Have you given your posting authority to these apps via SteemConnect?

Have you given your posting authority to these apps via SteemConnect?

Not that I remember, but it does seem to be a likely reason.

Hi @preparedwombat!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 5.117 which ranks you at #1001 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has not changed in the last three days.

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 80 contributions, your post is ranked at #77.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You've built up a nice network.
  • Try to show your post to more followers, for example via networking on our discord!
  • Try to work on user engagement: the more people that interact with you via the comments, the higher your UA score!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server