You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: A World Without Curation Rewards

in #voting8 years ago

Thanks for the comment. For most minnows, voting strategy is not that important, since curation rewards will be so small, it is probably not worth putting too much time or thought into it. The best opportunity for minnows is to be recruited by whales to identify valuable posts that have low payouts still I think.

Sort:  

but whales can recruit only so many. we need more whales, or at least more dolphins so that we can help minnows grow, as well as to attract new user to the platform

Good point. I wonder if the recent price drop will help bring in more investors, or scare them off :p

Another possible alternative would be to flatten the rewards curve even more. As far as I understand it there is a superlinear relationship between steem power and the weight of your vote so that 1,000,000 SP has more voting power than 2 accounts with 500,000 SP (as far as I understand). Flattening that relationship would effectively distribute the 'rewarding ability' to more users. Unless I'm mistaken.

You're absolutely right. I make nothing from my curation efforts, but I've still been practicing it because I don't want to someday have the power with no understanding of the strategy. I really want to get a handle on how it works. But I do think my own experience bears out what you've asserted in your post. It's a cool perk, but not necessary.

Yeah, it's hard to say. Personally, I would keep voting if the curation rewards were removed. I would probably feel less pressure to vote for certain content to and just relax and vote for what I like.