You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Hellzapoppin’ Little Artist

in #waiviolast month

You have at least one fan, me, and I am certain you have many more. I've seen them in your videos. I do not think you suck at art. If you suck at art, then I suck at art appreciation. I'm not having that.

Why did the jazz dancers (who were phenomenal! I love the way they collapse at the end, I would have collapsed after the first few seconds) put pine pitch on their shoes? For the leather? I tried to find out. I thought maybe it helped them do the lindy hop, gave them some needed stickiness on the floor (where are my words today?). Been sitting here for twenty minutes, now, on your post. I've had your post for breakfast.

I look forward to your Hudson River Valley paintings, which I find mediocre. although I do have one by a fellow named Pope, or some such. Who needs a painting of a riverside, when you can just go walk along a river?

Sort:  

Thank you for the kind words, and it’s always good to know there is a fan out there:)
I don’t think my art, or any art is “bad” if it’s made with sincerity. And that’s up to the maker to decide. I guess I was reflecting more on culture—juxtapozing what passes as “state of the art”, whether in visual art, literature, music, etc. Just a rant-critique on a supremely dumbed-down (permanently dislocated) culture.
Creative folks should be thrilled just for forging a lifestyle that allows them to continue to be creative. Sometimes we get caught in the propaganda of the “bottom-line” and can’t help but feel sorry for ourselves.
It goes away as quick as it comes.

I love this Henry Miller quote:

Most of the young men (and women too Henry) of talent whom I have met in this country give one the impression of being somewhat demented. Why shouldn’t they? They are living amidst spiritual gorillas, living with food and drink maniacs, success mongers, gadget innovators, publicity hounds. God, if I were a young man today, if I were faced with a world such as we have created, I would blow my brains out. Or, perhaps like Socrates, I would walk into the market place and spill my seed on the ground. I would certainly never think to write a book or paint a picture or compose a piece of music. For whom? Who beside a handful of desperate souls can recognize a work of art? What can you do with yourself if your life is dedicated to beauty? Do you want to face the prospect of spending the rest of your life in a straight-jacket?

It’s a badge of honor to be prolific, determined, and expressive for so long and not have any mob notice after so many years. I don’t do this for money or popularity. So, if I’m being true about it, then financial failure actually shows prominent success. I’m reaping what I sow.
:)

Yes! Yes! Yes!

Here Miller is on why living a "perilous life" (the interviewer's word for your lifestyle) is preferable to one lived in a "straightjacket" (your word), the difference between voluntary servitude, and involuntary. This was recorded when I was one. I can't help but wonder what he would have to say about art and life now. Thank you for his quote.

Of course, and thank you for the link.
I’ve listened to this interview before. What a voice, “don’t you know”!
Miller poisoned me with good ideas right out of college. I was doomed:)