Top 5 castles to visit in Europe - Beautiful Destinations

in #walkwithme6 years ago (edited)

On my journey to travel to every country in the world I'm pretty much done with those in Europe and so I thought it would be a great idea to share a few of my favorite places (in this case castles) there. I deliberately didn't put the “Hradčany” in Prague or "Buda Castle" in Budapest in here, just because they're already pretty famous and I wanted to focus more on the kind of "hidden spots".

Hluboká Castle, South Bohemia, Czech Republic

5Hluboká.JPG

Some of you may already know this one, but it's still one of the most remarkable castles in the Czech Republic. Looking like it's straight out of a Disney movie this beauty is located near České Budějovice and opened to public. Nearly just as great as the castle itself are in my opinion the gardens surrounding it, one of the best places to go for an afternoon stroll.

Fortress Kale, Skopje, Republic of Macedonia

5Skopje.jpg

This fortress would probably not fit that well in a Disney movie, nevertheless it's a must-visit if you're in the Republic of Macedonia. Also free of charge to visit you're gonna get the best view over the capital Skopje. Considering that the whole country isn't really that well known by tourists you'll likely have the fortress all by yourself to explore.

Gediminas Tower, Vilnius, Lithuania

5Vilnius.jpg

The award for the best view from a castle has to go to this one. Even though there's not that much left of the castle itself, the remaining Upper Tower makes up for it, and from there you'll have the undoubtedly best 360 view over Lithuania's capital, the Vilna river and the surroundings.

Three Towers, San Marino

5San Marino.jpg

This is one of the countries I haven't been to yet, but it's very high up my bucket list. San Marino is one of the smallest countries in Europe and each of the three peaks in the country has a castle on it. How crazy is that? When a friend who has recently been there showed me this picture I knew exactly where to go next.

Neuschwanstein Castle, Hohenschwangau, Germany

5Neuschwanstein.jpg

Okay, the last one can't be called a hidden spot. I mean everyone who has been to Germany knows this fairytale castle and when i went there I felt like at least half of them where there with me. You're not gonna get an all alone exploring session there, but it's still one of the must-visit castles in Europe.

If you're missing a castle or don't agree with me on one of the five mentioned ones let me know in the comments!

My introduction post:
https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@chiefniki/travelling-to-every-country-in-the-world-introduce-yourself

Do what you love (:

Sort:  

Wow beautiful ....!

Thank you (:

Very nice article 😊 I only know Neuschwanstein. The other castles also look very fairy tale like. Hope I can visit them some day!

Thank you for reading (:

It's really great to see such beauty...

Thank you!

That's really nice! I've only been to Neuschwanstein so far but the other ones also look really nice 😊

Thank you, their all worth a visit (:

Beautiful castles. I seen few myself when I lived in Poland. We went to few castles during the school field trips and I loved it.
Thank you for sharing the castles of Europe.

Thank you! Poland has some really beautiful castles too, maybe I should‘ve put some in there (:

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-08-31T12:40:54
Account Level: 0
Total XP: 6.50/100.00
Total Photos: 1
Total comments: 0
Total contest wins: 0
When you reach level 1 you will start receiving up to two daily upvotes

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank