You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Walk with me #2: Strasbourg (France) part one: The old town

in #walkwithme6 years ago

Thank you for this very thorough #walkwithme through Strasbourg, I cannot believe my eyes, what fabulous architecture everywhere, all the tiny details in everything, the history...it's so much to take in!

This decoration is amazing to me...what would go through its mouth?

Sort:  

It is truly amazing. All city seems to be built with such a passion for beauty that even after two years here I still discover little things that I haven't noticed before every time I go for a walk.

This decoration is part of the Cathedral. There are few of them actually in different sides of the doors. Knowing a bit of history of this place it makes me think that it might have been used to hang up lanterns. I am not certain though. I'll write a small piece on the unusual use of the Cathedral building a bit later on. Maybe it will make more sense then :)