Let's write a story together - Part One

in #war7 years ago (edited)

Good morning Steemers! I had trouble sleeping last night because this story kept trying to narrate itself in my head so I decided to get up out of bed and share it with you all. I have a really cool idea though, the part that kept coming to me ended at a certain point, so I thought if it got a response, you could leave your ideas for the next part of the story in the comments, and I would choose one to continue it. I will also be looking for a working title, sadly that part decided not to come to me in my sleep.

Part One - (insert working title here)

It was a time of post war, what we new of everything that encompassed our existence no longer existed. The Earth lay barren, and what was once a beautiful, green and lush planet was scorched. Dry red sand replaced miles of thick green grass, blackened hills of ash and coal stood in place of forests, and there were still places that burned endlessly as though they had an infinite supply of fuel.
I remember it well, it was years of murder, families being torn apart, countries that once formed alliances turned on each other and none of us really knew why. Everything happened suddenly, the day it started will be burned in my memory until the day I die, if I die. It was a day like any other day, I woke up, checked my emails over a cup of coffee, donned the same suit I wear every day and sat in an hour of traffic to get to the office. The interns laughed and gossiped in the lunch room, the custodian dragged a large pail of garbage around on wheels from office to office and the restroom air freshener timer sprayed a disgusting lilac mist all over me when I went in to prepare for my morning meeting. It was midway through that meeting, somewhere along the lines of profit margins and crypto investments that the door flew open to reveal one of our building security guards screaming about explosions, frantically trying to usher the meeting participants to a lower level of the building. We would never make it.
Seconds after the door came open, the sound of glass shattering and metal buckling overtook any other noise, then of course there was the screams, screams that to this day still repeat during the early morning hours in my head when I try to sleep. I can remember as I was trying to scramble to the stair case, I looked toward the boardroom which was all windows on one wall, and I could see people falling, arms flailing, terror twisted on their faces, and behind them black smoke and fire billowing from every building.
The thought of nuclear war was something that was on the minds of almost everyone at some point or another , we had all thought about it. I think most people assumed the bombs would fall, and everyone who was in the immediate radius would die quickly, and those who were on the outside of the blasts would be poisoned by radiation, the death wouldn't be as quick, but it was certain. Well we were wrong, what we couldn't foresee, what we never could have guessed was the effect that it would have on the DNA of some of us who carried a certain set of genes......

Okay! That's where it ended for me, let's have some ideas on where to take it next! One or two lines in the comments and I will choose one (tomorrow if I get enough!) and continue the story!
I hope you all liked it!

786290970985106198_469912689.jpg