Day 2: 5 men and a washing machine

in #washingmachine7 years ago (edited)

We've been here two days, I managed to unpack the suitcases and roughly organise the bulk of our clothing. Yay me!

With two young children laundry just seems to appear and grows to the size of Mount Vissouvious in hours. I don't know how it happens as my son is half naked at all times. The top or bottom depending on how he feels.

So in trying to stay atop the mountain I thought I'd put a wash on. I walked boldly over to the machine and opened the door, hoping to save myself time I began stuffing the machine like a Christmas turkey. I closed the door feeling confident, detergent in, select wash setting and pressed play. Yes, play! It's a fancy schmancy washing machine. I sat on the sofa while the machine play a cheery tune. I needed to feed my daughter so I got comfortable and began. All was well until about thirty minutes in, as the RPM picked up the drum spinning fast, the washing machine went from whisper quiet to what I can only discribe as a jack hammer. I sat feeding my daughter thinking that's odd, it says silent on the front of the machine. I continued feeding and next thing I heard duff! dufff! duffff! duffff! duffff! I thought humm that doesn't sound good and slowly got up to investigate.

I peered over the kitchen counted to see the machine hopping across the kitchen, only then did I notice the machine was half the size of a standard model. I quickly hit the pause button to stop the hammering, eventually the machine stopped, I then read that the machine only takes 4 kilos, I didn't even know such a machine existed. Clearly this machine is designed for a bachelor that's sending his washing to the launderette, not a family of four. I took half the washing out thinking the weight may have been an issue.

I called my husband to assess the situation. Neither of us could see what the problem could be so we called the maintenance team.

Guy 1: pressed a few buttons, restarted the machine and went on his way.

The jackhammer started again.

Guy 2: pressed a few buttons, pulled a piece of card/paper from under the leg, restarted the machine and went on his way.

Yep, jackhammer again!

Guy 3: we were feeling hopeful, extended the legs of the machine to wedge it under the counter 😳🤷🏻‍♀️ Pressed some buttons and the jackhammer began again.

So by now I started to think, well if the machine wasn't broken before it probably is now. With half a load in the machine and the other half wet in the washing basket, we called maintenance again.

Guy 4: faffed around and again left us.

Prior to him leaving my husband took his number and said we'd call if the hammering started again. Eachtime the cycle would start fine and only start hammering when it would reach the spin out point max rpm. This time we made a video to show the intensity of the hopping ,banging, bouncing and viberating.

We called guy no.4 back and showed home the video. He pulled the machine out opened the back panel and removed four parts that were holding the spring stiff. Oh boy it's never a good thing to see parts being removed from a machine.

He started a test cycle and low and behold he'd fixed it!

In sort, 5th time lucky will be the way from now on. Must remember to remain calm and be patient. Thankfully we pay annual maintenance not individual call out fees.

Sort:  

Haha sounds like fun and games with the washing machine.
RTFM lol

Thinking to set up a camera for more maintenance madness.

Reading the manuals boring, I like the approach of guys 1-3.

God loves a trier!

That's a great idea. Maintenance by committee. ;)